Pieces of Shadow: Selected Poems

Fondo de Cultura Económica, Fundación para las Letras Mexicanas, 2007 - 131 páginas
Pieces of Shadow gathers a selection of poetry by twentieth century Mexican writer Jaime Sabines, one of the most important figures in Spanish-American literature. This book assembles poems from his most recognized books, such as Horal (1950), Tarumba (1956), Yuria (1967) or Other Collected Poems (1950-1995), titles which earned Sabines many devoted readers and enthusiastic critics. The anthology has been translated into English by American poet W.S. Merwin. In Merwins words, what captured him of Sabines poetry was the jarring authenticity of passion in [the] tone, a great cracked bell note of craving and frustration, irony and anger, outrage and black humor all jangled at once, unabashed, unsweetened, unappeased, and all of it essential to the rest. These same features still remain in Sabines poetry for the new readers who will immerse in the literary work of a classic of modern Mexican literature.

Comentarios de la gente - Escribir un comentario

No encontramos ningún comentario en los lugares habituales.

Acerca del autor (2007)

Poet W. S. Merwin (William Stanley Merwin) was born on September 30, 1927 in New York City. He attended Princeton University. He has authored over fifteen books of poetry and some of those titles include "The River Sound" (Alfred A. Knopf, 1999), which was named a New York Times notable book of the year; "The Vixen" (1996), which won the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize; "The Carrier of Ladders" (1970), which won the Pulitzer Prize; and "A Mask for Janus" (1952), which was selected by W. H. Auden for the Yale Series of Younger Poets. Merwin won a second Pulitzer Prize for Poetry for The Shadow of Sirius (published in 2008). He has also published books of translation, which include Dante's Purgatorio, numerous plays and books of prose. Some of Merwin's honors include the Aiken Taylor Award for Modern American Poetry, the Bollingen Prize, the Governor's Award for Literature of the State of Hawaii, the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, the PEN Translation Prize, the Shelley Memorial Award, the first Tanning Prize and a Lila Wallace-Reader's Digest Writers' Award. He also received fellowships from the Academy of American Poets, the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Rockefeller Foundation and a Ford Foundation Grant. He is a Chancellor of The Academy of American Poets and received a five-year term as judge of the Yale Series of Younger Poets.

Información bibliográfica