Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

PREFACE.

To The Living Pioneers And Their Descendants, Of

Fayette County.

The Author has spent several months in constant travel and search, and taken unwearied pains, in collecting the names and records of the illustrious Pioneers, who made their homes first in Fayette County. It has involved considerable time, expense, labor and difficulties. Visiting all the most noted places, mounds, camps, cliffs, etc., in the county, he has endeavored to portray the toils, hardships and privations of a pioneer life, when nothing but dense forests, inhabited only by Indians and wild beasts; when the only habitation was the rude log cabin; when the scream of the panther, the howl of the wolf, the hum of wild bees, and the war song of the savages constituted the music of the wilderness. Many of them lived to see fruitful fields spring up in the forest, and the wilderness melt away before the tide of industry.

"Their names should be enrolled on history's page,
To be perused by each succeeding age."

WASHINGTON COURT HOUSE.

The county-seat, is a flourishing business place, containing about 3,000 inhabitants—see business directory. The county has about 300 miles of turnpikes, all directly or indirectly running into the county-seat. The Zanesville & Wilmington Railroad passes through Washington.

CONTENTS:

FAYETTE COUNTY INTRODUCTION, 3

UNION TOWNSHIP, - - - - -5

WAYNE TOWNSHIP, - - - - - 19

PERRY TOWNSHIP, - - - - - 30

GREEN TOWNSHIP, ----- 40

CONCORD TOWNSHIP, - - - - - 49

JASPER TOWNSHIP, - ... 60

JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP, - - - - - 69

PAINT TOWNSHIP, ----- 81

MADISON TOWNSHIP, - - . - - 95

MARION TOWNSHIP, s - - - - 107

HISTORY OF FAYETTE COUNTY.

UNION TOWNSHIP.

BY H. HOW.

Fayette was formed in March, 1810, from Ross and Highland, and named from the Marquis de La Fayette. The surface is generally level. About half the soil is a dark, vegetable loam, on a clayey sub-soil, mixed with a limestone gravel; the rest is a yellow, clayey loam. The principal productions are wheat, corn, cattle, hogs, sheep and wool. In the Northeastern part is a small tract called "the barrens," so termed from the land being divested of undergrowth and tall timber. It is covered with a grass well adapted to pasturage. The growth of the County in former years, was retarded by much of the land being owned by non-residents, and not in market, and also from the wet lands, which, contrary to the original opinion, have, when drained, proved very productive. The population in 1810, was about 3,000; in 1820,6,336; in 1830, 8,183; in 1840, 10,979 ; and in 1870, .

Washington, the County seat, was laid out in 1810, on land given for that purpose, by Benjamin Temple, of Kentucky, out of his survey. The pioneers of Fayette County, were principally from Virginia and Kentucky, and were generally hale and robust, brave and generous. Thomas McDonald, one of the earliest in the County, was with General Massie, laying off the County surveys; he rendered valuable services in Wayne's campaign, in which he acted as a spy, and was also in the war of 1812.

Dr. Thomas McGara, was the first physician in the town of Washington. He represented the County in the Legislature, and was Associate Judge. John Popejoy was one of the first Justices in the County.

The first Court of Common Pleas in the County was held by Judge Thompson, in the cabin of John Devault, north of Bloomingburg. The Judge received a severe lecture from old Mrs. Devault, for sitting upon, and rumpling her bed. The grand jury held their deliberations in the stable, and in the hazel brush.

Among the families of great notoriety were the Funks. The men, from old Adam down to Absalom, were of uncommonly large size, and distinguished for their boldness, activity and fighting propensities. Jake Funk, the most notorious, having been arrested in Kentucky, for passing counterfeit money, or some other crime, was bailed by a friend, a Kentuckian by the name of Trumbo. Having failed to appear at Court, Trumbo, with about a dozen of his friends, well armed, proceeded to the house of the Funks, for the purpose of taking Jake, running him to Kentucky, and delivering him up to the proper authorities, to free himself from paying bail. The Funks, hearing of this contemplated attack, prepared themselves for the battle. Old Adam, the father, took his seat in the middle of the floor to give commands to his sons, who were armed with pistols, knives, etc. When Trumbo and his men appeared, they were warned to desist, instead of which, they made a rush at Jake, who was on the porch. A Mr. Wilson, of the attacking party, grappled with Jake, at which the firing commenced on both sides; Wilson was shot dead. Ab. Funk was shot down. Trumbo ,having clinched Jake, the latter drew him to the door, and was about to cut his throat with a large knife, when old Adam cried out "Spare him ; don't kill him, his father once saved me from being killed by the Indians," at which he was let off after being severely wounded, and his companions were glad to escape with their lives. The old house, says Robinson, is yet standing, on the East Fork, now Paint Township, showing bullet holes in the logs, as a memento of the bloody battle and tragedy. We now name the old block house, Funk's Fort. The Funk family were no enemies to whisky. Old Adam, with some of his oomrades, being one day at Boebuck's grocery, the first opened in the County—about a mile below Funk's house— became merry by drinking. Old Adam, wishing to carry a gallon home, in vain endeavored to procure even a washtub for the purpose. Observing one of Roebuck's pigs roaming

« AnteriorContinuar »