« AnteriorContinuar »
PRAYERS AND HYMNS
BLUE COAT HOSPITAL,
DIVINE SERVICE COMMENCES IN THE CHAPEL OF THE HOSPITAL. ON
SUNDAY EVENINGS, AT FOUR O'CLOCK.
CHRISTIANÆ CHARITATI PROMOVENDE INOPIQUE PUERITIÆ ECCLESIÆ ANGLICANA
PRINCIPIIS IMBUENDÆ SACRUM, ANNO SALUTIS MDCCXVII.
The Gift Ar. Thennar Haughton, a kooster of the School Prentice Abay",1877
THE GOVERNORS AND TRUSTEES OF THIS CHARITY
ARE ONE HUNDRED IN NUMBER. The Worshipful the Mayor, and the Reverend the Rector, for the time
being, by virtue of their Offices, and the remainder by Election. Twelve make a Board; and they meet for the election of Trustees, the admission of Children, and for the dispatch of business, on the first Tuesday after Lady Day, Midsummer Duy, Michaelmas Day, and Christmas Day, respectively.
1869-70 Jog. Hubback, Esq., Mayor 1 1854 Thomas D. Anderson, Esq. 1829 Rev. A. Campbell, M.A., Rector 1854 William Langton, Esq. 1833 Right Hon. Earl of Harrow by 1855 Edward Gibbon, Esq, 1851 Right Hon. Earl of Derby 1855 Robert Hutchison, Esq. 1857 Right Hon. Earl of Sefton 1855 Thomas Shaw, Esq. 1818 Peter Leicester, Esq.
1855 Alfred Castellain, Esq. 1820 Sir Hardman Earle, Bart. 1855 George Arkle, Esq. 1823 John Shaw Leigh, Esq.
1856 Laurence R. Baily, Esq. 1823 William Dixon, Esq.
1856 Francis A. Hamilton, Esq. 1833 Sir T. B. Birch, Bart.
1857 Charles W. Reade, Esq. 1833 John Hayward Turner, Esq. 1858 John Cainpbell, Esq. 1834 Henry Ashton, Esq.
1859 Sir Thos. Edwards-Mo
, Bart. 1836 John Stewart, Esq.
1859 James Tyrer, Esq. 1837 Edward Moon, Esq.
1859 William Preston, Esq. 1838 Samuel H. Thompson, Esq. 1859 Charles B. Robinson, Esq. 1940 John P. Heywood, Esq.
1859 Samuel Martin, Esq. 1842 Hugh Hornby, Esq.
1860 John Weightman, Esq. 1842 John Marriott, Esq.
1860 John Geo. Woodhouse, Esq. 1842 Richard Gibson, Esq.
1861 Thomas Chilton, Esq. 1843 Charles Groves, Esq.
1862 S. R. Graves, Esq., M.P. 1843 Samuel Holme, Esq.
1862 Henry Royds, Esq. 1844 Matthew Gregson, Esq.
1863 James H. Macrae, Esq. 1845 Alfred Waterhouse, Esq.
1863 Richard Ansdell, Esq., A.R.A. 1846 Lieut.-Col. Bourne, M.P.
1863 Robert Rankin, Esq. 1846 Daniel Neilson, Esq.
1863 Robert Gladstone, Esq. 1846 Thomas B. Horsfall, Esq. 1863 Chapple Gill, Esq. 1847 William Fletcher, Esq.
1864 Christopher Bushell, Esq. 1847 Charles Turner, Esq., M.P. 1864 Joseph Hubback, Esq. 1848 Rt. Hon. Edw. Cardwell, M.P. 1865 Thomas A. Bushby, Esq. 1848 William Reynolds, Esq., M.D. 1865 Harmood W. Banner, Esq. 1848 James Aspinall Tobin, Esq. 1865 Sir W. Richmond Brown, Bart. 1848 Thomas Brocklebank, Esq. 1865 Wm. Rathbone, Esq., M.P. 1848 John Swainson, Esq.
1865 William John Marrow, Esq. 1850 John Naylor, Esq.
1866 Edward R. Bickersteth, Esq. 1850 John Eden, Esq.
1866 William R. Duncan, Esq. 1850 James J. Bibby, Esq.
1866 C. B. Greaves-Banning, Esq. 1851 John R. Shaw, Esq.
1866 Arthur P. Fletcher, Esq. 1851 John Torr, Esq.
1866 Charles Inman, Esq. 1851 William R. Sandbach, Esq. 1866 Vincent A. King, Esq. 1851 Alfred North, Esq.
1867 Matthew W. Armour, Esq. 1851 Rev. Thos. Staniforth, A.M. 1868 John Grant Morris, Esq. 1852 James Bateson, Esq.
1868 Hugh Perkins, Esq. 1853 John B. Brancker, Esq.
1868 Charles Myers, Esq. 1853 Capt. Henry B. H. Blundell 1869 Alfred T. Parker, Esq. 1853 John Grey, Esq.
1869 Alexander Shand, Esq. 1854 Halsall Segar, Esq.
1869 Maxwell Hyslop Maxwell, Esq. 1854 Charles MacIver, Esq.
1869 John Bateson, Esq. 1854 Edward Cropper, Esq.
1869 Thomas Bouch, Esq.
OFFICERS FOR 1870.
Mr. Thomas Haughton, Master.
Auditors. Mrs. Haughton, Matron.
"Surgeons. * There are four vacancies to be filled up at the next Quarterly Board.
BLUE COAT HOSPITAL.
Among the many wise and benevolent Institutions, which have been called into existence, and have been supported by the liberality of the town of Liverpool, the BLUE COAT HOSPITALwhether we regard its objects, its efficiency, or the length of time it has been in operation-claims distinguished attention. It is the oldest Charitable Institution in the town, having been founded in 1708, for clothing and educating 40 boys and 10 girls. The Rev. Robert Styth, one of the Rectors, was the first Treasurer, and continued until his death in 1713; he was succeeded by Bryan Blundell, Esq., who filled that responsible office until his death in 1736.
Notwithstanding the provision made for clothing and educating the children, the plan was still found to be defective; inasmuch as ' whilst they were forced to go to their parents for meat, some of whom, not having any to give them, sent them out to beg for it, by which they acquired such habits of idleness, and met with so many diversions, that they either neglected the School, or profited but little by coming; so that, whilst in this state, the means used not being sufficient to the end proposed, nothing more effectual could be devised than raising a fund which would be sufficient to provide them with meat, drink, clothes and lodging, in one entire house, where they would be kept under such discipline, as, by the blessing of God, might produce the desired effect." * Therefore, to complete this object, a liberal subscription was entered into, and on the 3rd of May, 1716, the first stone was laid of that portion of the building which now forms the ancient part of the Hospital, and was erected at an expense of about £2,300, when all the scholars became inmates.
In 1720, application was made to Government for a charter, but the School not being upon a royal foundation, it was refused. In 1726 the number of children was increased to 60, wholly supported and educated at the cost of the charity. In 1739, a decree was obtained from the Duchy Court of Lancaster, by which the School was vested in 50 Trustees, and the objects of the Institution fully defined. In 1742, the number of children was still further augmented, and the complement then fixed was 70. Bryan Blundell, Esq., the great patron of the Institution, whose devotion to the interests of the School ranks him amongst the most distinguished benefactors of Liverpool, made another powerful appeal to the public, which produced £2,000, and enabled the Governors to increase the scholars to 100, of whom 30 were girls.
* Old record of the School.