« AnteriorContinuar »
and Mr. Danley, at $25 per month. Rev. Mr. Young was appointed to visit the German population. The usual reports were not ready.
At the twelfth annual meeting of the Society, January 5, 1865, at the Presbyterian Church, Mr. J. W. Maxwell was chosen Treasurer and Depositary of the Society; the other officers were retained. The meeting was highly entertained by speeches from Revs. Dr. Porter, Bailey, Andrus and Price. The usual reports were not in readiness.
At the thirteenth annual meeting of the Society, the old officers were retained, except that Mr. O. Rugg was chosen President, December 17, 1865, at the Methodist Church. The meeting was entertained by speeches from Revs. Rutledge, Lowe, Ellis and Bailey. Mr. J. W. Maxwell, Treasurer, made his report, which was referred to Auditing Committee. Rev. Mr. Mayers, County Agent, made a partial report.
The fourteenth annual meeting of the Society was held in Shroeder's Hall, December 23, 1866. The old officers were retained. Mr. J. W. Maxwell, Treasurer, and Mr. Ira Bristol, County Agent, made their reports. The meeting was entertained by addresses from Revs. Hartshorn, State Agent, Rabe, Ellis and Jacques.
The fifteenth annual meeting of the Society was held in the Methodist Church, December 22, 1867. The old officers were retained. The Secretary's report covered those of the Treasurer and the Agent. Meeting addressed by Revs. McElroy, McDougal, and the State Agent, Hartshorn.
The sixteenth annual meeting of the Society was held in the Presbyterian Church March 14, 1879. The old officers were re-elected. The reports of Mr. J. W. Maxwell, Treasurer, and of Mr. C. K. Daniels, County Agent, were read and referred to committee. Very interesting addresses were delivered by President Edwards, of the Normal University, and Judge Culver, of Pontiac.
The seventeenth anniversary of the Society was held in Schroeder's Opera House, April 8, 1870. Mr. W. H. Winegardner was chosen President, and the other officers substantially retained. Mr. J. W. Maxwell, Treasurer, and Rev. Mr. Daniels, County Agent, presented their reports, which were read and approved. Rev. Dr. Reed de. livered a very fine address, which was well appreciated by the audience.
The eighteenth anniversary of the Society was held in the Academy of Music, April 9, 1871. The old officers were rechosen. The audience was very large, and listened with much interest to the addressess delivered by Rev. Mr. Pilcher, R. R. Williams, Esq., and Mr. Jackman, Superintendent of machine shops, Chicago & Alton Railroad. From the report of the County Agent, Mr. C. K. Daniels, we select the following items. During the year, he had addressed 38 public meetings, obtained new subscriptions amounting to $819.82, collected on subscriptions and notes, $1,048.98, received from local agents and branch societies, $582.46, and from sale of books, $315.20, making the entire receipts $1,946.61. He had traveled 1,100 miles, visited, with assistance of local agents, 1,400 families. Number of books circulated, 1,400, to the value of about $900; number of branch societies, 27, having in their depositories books to the value of $716.81, and $694.42 worth in the county depository, amounting to $1,411.23. There are 220 local agents, and 33 pastors co-operating in the county. The Treasurer's report shows receipts to be $1,946.64, and disbursements and $175.92 on hand, amounting to the same, $1,200 of which was sent to parent society, New York. Books left over and purchased during the year, $1,613.39; books on hand and distributed to the same amount.
The nineteenth anniversary of the Society was a very interesting occasion. The former officers were retained. The meeting, April 21, 1872, in Schroeder's OperaHouse, was very large, and most ably addressed by Dr. E. O. Haven, President of the Northwestern University, at Evanston. The substance of the reports was: Books in the depository at the commencement of the current year, and purchases, $1,621.65; books delivered to branch societies, sold, and on hand, the
same. Cash received from sales and branch societies, $2,089.51; disbursements and balance in Treasury, the same, of which $1,106 were sent to parent society, New York. The resources of the Society amount to $1,816.02. The County Agent, Mr. C. K. Daniels, had delivered 47 addresses ; obtained by subscriptions, $1,430; secured 4 life-members to parent society; made cash collections, $1,739.04 ; traveled 2,700 miles ; visited 2,179 families ; circulated 1,600 Bibles and Testaments; found 48 families destitute of the Bible ; supplied 24, and did much other labor in the cause.
The twentieth anniversary of the Society was held in the Opera-House, July 27, 1873. Rev. John Ansley was chosen President, and the other officers retained. The hall was packed, and many could not gain admittance. The meeting was eloquently addressed by Rev. Mr. Barnes. Measures were taken to supply the cars of the Chicago & Alton Railroad with Bibles and Testaments. The Treasurer's report shows $2,514.60 in books held over, in receipts from branches through agent, and sales at depository. The disbursements were the same, except $365.30 in treasury. Sent to parent society, $1,444.24. Books in the county depository, and in those of the branch societies, $1,370.20. The County Agent had addressed 32 public meetings, and obtained $725 in subscriptions; had traveled 2,000 miles ; 2,324 families were visited, 39 found without Bibles and supplied; about 180 books were circulated, and much other labor done.
The twenty-first anniversary of the Society was held at Durley Hall, June 7, 1874. The meeting was immense. The former officers were retained. The audience was addressed by Mrs. Jennie Willing, Dr. Edwards, of Normal, and Rev. Dr. Fallows. The Treasurer's report shows that $797.33 were received for books sold, and $829.45 for collections and donations. To the parent society, $1,066.77 were sent, the expenses paid, and $352.54 in the treasury. Value of books received during the year, $1,293.32 ; value of books donated to supply Chicago & Alton Railroad cars, $207.47; value of books in the chief and branch depositories, $1,317.37.
Protestant Churches co-operativg, 77; branch societies, 29; families visited, 1,696 ; destitute families supplied with Scriptures, 12.
The twenty-second anniversary of the Society was held in Durley Hall, May 16, 1875. Mr. William Bone was chosen President, and Mr. J. A. Willson, Secretary. The immense audience was addressed by Dr. Edwards, of Normal. From the Treasurer's report, we learn that the receipts from books sold were $674.55 ; from collections and donations, $775.60; paid to the parent society $1,222.16; and, after paying the expenses, $185.55 cash in the treasury. The value of books received during the year was $900.21; the value of books sold, $674.75 ; and the value of books remaining in the depositories, $1,441.14.
The twenty-third anniversary of the Society was held Aug. 27, 1876, at the Methodist Church. The audience was large, and was addressed very satisfactorily by Rev. A. I. Hobbs. The old officers were continued. At a previous meeting of the Executive
Committee, the following persons were constituted life-members of the County Society: Miss May Bedell, of Lawndale; Mr. William Morris, of West; Mr. William Baldridge, of White Oak, and Mr. J. M. Mitchell, of Gridley. As reported by the Treasurer, there had been received from the County Agent $892.32, from the branch societies, $221.75, and from sale of books in county depository, $570.40. The expenses were paid, $663.92 sent to the parent society, and $719.36 remained in the treasury. Books delivered to branches, $330.19 ; remaining in depository, $602.15. County Agent had spoken publicly 42 times; 1,736 families were visited ; 70 destitute families supplied with Bibles ; 1,280 miles traveled ; 2,000 books circulated, and much other labor was performed for the Society.
The twenty-fourth anniversary of the Society was held in the Presbyterian Church, September 16, 1877. The old officers were retained, and the meeting addressed by Dr. W. H. H. Adams. The Treasurer reported $1,933.72 receipts from all sources, with what was on hand at the previous report. Expenses were paid, $1,044.30 sent to parent society and $335.41 remained in treasury. Amount of books received from New York, $1,065.35; books sold at depository, $530.45; books on hand, $750.21. Rev. James Ferguson assisted the County Agent in canvassing. Families visited in the county, 4.000; number of destitute families and individuals supplied with Bibles, 183; miles traveled, 1,800 ; value of books donated, $164.07; value of books sold, $739.03 ; value of books on hand in the county, $1,600. The twenty-fifth anniversary of the Society was held at the Methodist Church,
1878. The old officers were retained. Meeting addressed by Revs. A. I. Hobbs, J. A. Kumler and J. M. Baugh. The report of the Treasurer shows: Cash from all sources, $1,127.07; disbursements show expenses paid, sent to American Bible Society, $491.47, and remaining in treasury, $391.61. Books sold, $398.82; books purchased, $314.60; books on hand, $641.64 in the county depository, and $818.98 in those of the branch societies. Miles traveled by the County Agent, 1,150; addresses delivered, 25; families visited, 1,000; local agents, 150; branch societies 32; value of books circulated, sold and donated, $148.42.
The Society has been in operation twenty-five years. It has sent to the American Bible Society from $12,000 to $15,000, in payment for books or as donations, $1,000 having been recently transmitted to it from the estate of the late Mr. T. C. Humphrey, of this county. Many thousands of Bibles and Testaments have been put into the hands of the people of this county through its agency, and incalculable good done by its many incidental influences. The Society is in a healthy condition, and in hopeful spirits in reference to its futnre successes, when the present financial embarrassments shall have subsided.
PHYSICAL FEATURES. As will be seen in another place, while speaking of its origin, McLean County assumed its present form and dimensions in 1811, on the formation of Woodford County. The main body of it is forty-two miles east and west, and thirty-two north and south, the northeast and the northwest corners having been cut off. There is no stream of water of any considerable size within its limits. In the northeastern portion of the county there are several creeks, as Bray's Creek, Henline Creek, Turkey Creek, Patton Branch, Money Creek, Crooked Creek and Buck Creek; and in the northwestern portion, Denman's Creek, Rock Creek, Six-Mile Creek and many smaller ones all running northwest, and combining to form the Mackinaw, which runs west, leaving the county near the northwest corner of Township 25 north, Range 2 east, and passing into Tazewell County. In the northeast corner, Rock Creek and some other small creeks run north, into the Vermilion.
In the western portion of the county are several branches of Sugar Creek, running southwest, and leaving the county on the west side of Townships 22 and 23 porth, Range 1 west of the Third Principal Meridian. In the southwestern portion is Kickpoo Creek, with its many branches, running south west and leaving the county in the northeastern part of Township 21 north, Range 1 east, and entering De Witt County. In the southeastern portion are the branches of Salt Creek, running south into De Witt County, in Township 21 north, Ranges 4 and 5 east; and in the eastern part of the county are the incipient waters of the Sangamon River, running east and south, and leaving the county near the the southeastern corner of Township 23 north, Range 6 east,
This all shows very clearly that the middle portion of McLean County is a gentle swell of country, higher than the surrounding counties; it shows, also, how generally and impartially all parts are supplied with running water.
Nor are the distribution and the size of its forest groves less admirable. In the northwest is White Oak Grove; in the north, Mackinaw Timber; in the west, Stout's Grove; in the center, Blooming Grove and Old Town Timber; in the south, Funk's Grove, Randolph Grove and Buckle's Grove, and in the east, Cheney's Grove. whole, this distribution of streams and groves could scarcely be improved for agricultural pursuits and for stock-raising, as well as for convenience, health and beauty. In the southeastern portion of the county, more timber-land may seem desirable ; but there is compensation in the fact that West and Belleflower are two as fine townships of land as the sun shines upon in his daily course.
As will be seen elsewhere, the territory now comprising McLean County was, in 1821, embraced in two other counties, that portion of it lying west of the Third Principal Meridian being in Sangamon County, and the rest in Fayette, and the capital of the State was Vandalia, the county seat of the latter county.
At that time, there were no white settlers within the present limits of the county. Although the Indians had, sometime previously, bargained away this section of the West to the United States Government, they were still in full possession of the country and roamed over it at will, enjoying all its advantages, as formerly.
The first surveying on the territory now composing this county was done in April, 1821, by Mr. John F. McCullum, who ran the Third Principal Meridian from the standard line, on the south side of Town 21, as far north as the north line of Town 25. The standard line on the south side was run also in April, 1821, by Mr. Joseph Borough ; and the line north of Town 25 was surveyed in March, 1822, by Mr. Enoch Stein. These lines were the bases of the survey of the county. Ranges 1 and 2 east were surveyed in October and November, 1823, by Messrs. A. M. and P. M. Hamtrameck. Range 3 east was surveyed in January and February, 1824, by Mr. Beal Greenup. Ranges 4 and 5 east were surveyed in April, 1824, by Mr. John Barcroft. Range 6 east was surveyed by Mr. E. Recton, probably in 1824; and Range 1 west of the Third Principal Meridian, by Mr. P. M. January, in June, 1823.
In their notes, these surveyors speak of there being a settlement of white people on Section 15, in Randolph Township, in 1823. There was a camp of Delaware Indians on the northwest quarter of Section 36, in Lexington Township, near which was their corn-field, consisting of a few acres. There was also a town of the Kickapoo Indians near the present village of Pleasant Hill. Their corn-field, of about twenty acres, was on the line between Sections 17 and 20. Mr. Patrick Hopkins, still living in the vicinity, saw corn growing in that field, on the 25th of May, 1830, which the Indians had planted, and which was at that time twenty inches high-the biggest corn ever seen in this section of country so early in the year.
There was another noted Indian town at the head of Old Town Timber-hence the name—on the line between Sections 31 and 32, in Arrowsmith Township. At the time of the survey, this town was apparently abandoned. The outlines of their intrenchments were seen as late as in 1863. On breaking up the turf, in 1864, bullets, gun-barrels and many bones were thrown up; and numerous 'arrow-points are found, even unto the present day.
The main trail of the Indians through this section of the State was southeast and northwest, from Post Vincennes, on the Wabash, to Fort Clarke (Peoria), up the Wabash and the Vermilion, in the direction of Danville; thence across to the Sangamon, to the northwest part of Champaign County; thence to the east end of Old Town Timber; thence northwest, to Smith's Grove, in Towanda Township; thence to the south end of Haven's Grove, and thence westward, crossing the Mackinaw at Farnisville. From this route, it will be seen that the Indians in those times, like the early settlers, were very friendly to the groves, and liked to be as near them as practicable. Traces of this trail can still be seen in the hills near the Mackinaw, cut by the feet of the Indian ponies, in their passing to and fro. This was the main trail through the county, and other lighter trails were seen in different directions. Indians were quite common in the vicinity of Indian Grove, in Livingston County, as late as in 1835. In those times, the Indians, and the early settlers after them, made considerable quantities of sugar from the maple-trees in these groves, especially in Blooming Grove, Randolph Grove, Dry Grove and Stout's Grove, and some is still made in favorable seasons.
The first settlers in what is now McLean County were Mr. John W. Dawson and Mr. John Hendrix, who came with their families to Blooming Grove in the spring of 1822, and settled near its east end. They came from Sangamon County, which, at that time, included the portion of this county west of the Third Principal Meridian, and this portion of it, in which they settled, was in Fayette County. In the summer of the same year, Mr. John Dawson came to join his family in the new home. In the spring of 1823, the Orendorffs came to the Grove. In 1824, came the Rhodes family, and Mr. William H. Hodge, Mr. William R. Goodheart, Mr. William Evans and Mr. William Dimmitt in 1825. In 1826, came the Guthries, Mr. David Cox and Mr. William McCullough. In 1827, Dr. Isaac Baker, and, in 1829, the Allen family came to cast their lot with the pioneers. A fuller account of the early settlement of Blooming Grove will be found elsewhere in this work.
It is said that Mr. Gardner Randolph came to Randolph Grove in 1822, and Mr. Alfred M. Stringfield in 1823. In fact, the surveyors of the county, in their noten