Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

The railroad officials now serving are: For the Chicago & Alton Railroad, A. H. Copeland, Ticket Agent; C. J. Chisam, Freight Agent; C. B. Hanna, Night Operator ; John Campbell, Baggageman; William Cleary, Trackmaster. For the Toledo, Peoria & Warsaw Railroad, Alonzo Thomas, Ticket Agent; D. P. Cherry, Freight Agent; Harry Carlisle, Night Operator; John Keeley, Trackmaster; William Gayman and Lewis Arnold, Draymen.

Chenoa has several fine brick business blocks. That built by W. M. Hamilton, of Wenona, north of the railroad, and occupied by W. M. Fales, was built in 1869, is 55x85 feet, two stories and basement; Snyder's Block, built in 1873, 50x80 feet, two stories and basement; Shipman's Block, on the flat-iron,” 24 feet on the north end and 80 on the south, is 120 feet long, two stories and basement, and the one built by Snyder, Ketcham & Seybolt, and Coonley, in 1871, also two stories and basement, baving the bank at the corner, are among the finest.

BUSINESS.

At first, only the part of the town west of the railroad (original town of Chenoa), was devoted to business. The portion lying between this and East Chenoa, was not platted, and hence was not in market. The objections of Scott were overcome in 1865, and at that time Louis Ziegler built a large wagon-shop east of the railroad, and about the same time several others built there. Now, at least nineteen-twentieths of the business is transacted on the ground which Scott had dedicated to a high wall between him and Hamilton.

The men who have, by their energy, capital and business rectitude, made Chenoa what it is are J. R. Snyder, Sanborn Bros., Haynes, Jordon & Co., Louis Ziegler, J. B. Lenney, W. M. Fales, J. P. McKnight, R. C. Sallee, George Bettinger, Hicks, Elias Shipman, W. H. Levers, the Bushes (father and son), and several others whose names appear in these annals.

At present, business of various kinds is represented by the following: Dry goods and groceries, W.M. Fales (who has been in trade here twenty years), James H. Worth (fifteen years, has been in trade fifty-two years, and has seen four general seasons of prostration in trade and industries), A. D. Keepers, S. C. Allen (ten years), Jacob Balbach, and A. W. Atwood ; groceries, Ketcham & Seybolt, Snyder Bros., G. W. Miller, and F. N. Merton ; drugs, T. J. Banta & Co., W. Ruger, Southwick & Lenney; hardware, Besley & Wightman, Jewell & Gibson ; tin and stoves, Alexander Holden ; boots and shoes, Andrew Work, M. M. Arnold, H. W. Plank ; grain, Churchill & Sons, Haynes Bros., Louis Ziegler ; hotels, Z. Munsell, A. W. Miller; bakery, Thomas Edwards ; wagon and carriage makers, Jewell & Gibson, Otto Scherberth, Fred Brumm, R. C. Rollins, H. Crab; butcher, Garisch Bros.; printer, C. W. Stickney; harness-makers, S. C. Atwood, Fred. Shearer, J. D. Moore; bank, J. R. Snyder; clothing, T. B. Pritchard; livery-stable, Robert Hanna; milk-dealer, William Maxwell ; furniture, D. Shober; boarding-houses, Silas Baker, the Misses Ludem; painters, Edward Hendee, William Alexander; lumber and coal, Pike Bros., La Bar & Gordon ; millinery, etc., Miss Bowen, Mrs. George T. Coonley ; book and newsdealers, 0. D. Sanborn, George T. Coonley ; segar-makers, Lilie Bros.; watchmakers and jewelers, M. W. Jenks, William Ellis; contractors and builders, Ohmit & Ballinger, Dunlap Bros.; doctors and dentists, G. W. Ewing, Dr. Holderness, J. A. Munroe, J. M. Gallahue; lawyers, Martin Shephard, Judge Lynch, R. W. Sill, T. H. Harder.

From the first, the grain trade has been an important factor in the growth and business of the city. With competing markets, and with the pluck and push of her produce-buyers, grain was brought to this market from many miles around, even from those farms which were naturally tributary to other railroad towns. The men who had this interest in hand never let the buyers in other towns overbid them, and have been singularly successful in trade.

The first grist-mill was erected in 1861, by Mr. Nordyke, now head of the Nordyke Manufacturing Company, Indianapolis, the citizens contributing the ground and building. It was sold to Pontiac parties, and, in 1864, purchased by Sanborn Bros., who tore it down in 1868, and built a large four-run mill. The mill was purchased by Debnor & Ziegler, but was burned in 1875.

CHURCHES, SOCIETIES, ETC. There are five churches, viz., Presbyterian, Congregationalist, Baptist, Methodist and Roman Catholic. The first church organization was the Presbyterian (N. S.), which was about 1860. It, however, soon disbanded, its members going by letter to "the Chenoa Presbyterian Church" (O. S.), which was organized in 1862 by the Presbytery of Bloomington, March 6, in the old schoolhouse, Rev. D. A. Cornelison acting as Moderator. This meeting of Presbytery was duly called for the purpose of acting on a petition of the citizens to have a church formed here, and was the first permanent organization. The Church was organized with fourteen members—Rebecca Bush, Nathaniel Brown, Mary A. Gray, Huddessa Hicks, Edward Rowland, Margaret Rouland, Sarah E. Brown, Julia G. Scott, Margaret McCune, Jane Rowland, Rosanna McCune, Martha Smith and Edwin F. Belden. Edward Rowland and Nathaniel Brown were chosen Ruling Elders and were duly installed. The present Elders are Addison Muzzy, William Maxwell, J. F. McClintock and William Crawford. For a short time, the Church was supplied by Rev. J. T. Whittemore; after that, by Rev. P. D. Young; from December, 1863, to April, 1866, by Rev. A. L. Knox; from this date to April, 1868, by Rev. W. L. Green. In May following, Rev. M. M. Travis commenced his labors here, and, during the year, was duly installed the first Pastor. His services have continued to the present time. The entire number received into the membership of the Church has been 393. The present membership is 175, not including such as have moved away without being dismissed. Soon after the organization, they commenced the erection of the first church-edifice built in the place, which they sold to the Congregational society, and, in 1873, they commenced the erection of the large and beautiful brick edifice they how occupy. It is believed to be (outside of Bloomington and Normal) the finest church-edifice in the county, and cost $15,000. A parsonage has also been erected at a cost of $2,000. A flourishing Sunday school is maintained. To the labors of the present Pastor, Rev. M. M. Travis, most of the work done in this building, as well as the spiritual growth, must be attributed. Ardent, patient, faithful, have been his labors, and it is a pleasant thought that for years to come, even after his pulse may have ceased to beat, the results of his laborious, devoted life will be felt through generations yet to come. He has long been officially connected with the school as one of the Board of Directors, with like good results.

The Roman Catholic.—As everywhere in the West where laborers are in demand, a goodly number of Roman Catholics early made their homes here. Up to 1865, the members of this Church in this vicinity were irregularly visited and ministered to in spiritual things by clergymen from Bloomington, and by Rev. Fathers Kennedy and Campbell, later, in regular monthly services. The year mentioned, Chenoa was attached to El Paso, and attended to monthly by Father Keenan, now of Amboy.

In 1868, a committee consisting of Hugh Brady, James Welch and John Hayes, with Father Keenan as President, was appointed to select grounds and erect a church. Up to this time, services had been held in private houses and schoolhouses. The committee disagreed, and so persisted in disagreeing, that, at one time, it was proposed to erect two churches in different parts of the city. The Father, President of the committee, could not sanction such a course, and withdrew from the committee, and, shortly afterward, resigned the charge, which was immediately intrusted to Rev. Father Fanning, then and now Missionary Rector of Fairbury.

Father Fanning had no difficulty with obdurate committeemen, for he cut the Gordian knot by appointing bimself a committee of one, and employed William O'Brien, of East Lynn, II., to put up a frame building 33x60, 20 feet posts.

Service was first celebrated in the new church in February, 1869, since which, several additions and improvements have been made. In size and beauty, it is only surpassed by one church in the city.

In 1871, it was visited by the much-beloved Bishop Foley, who gave confirmation to a class of 125, chiefly children, from ten years and upward. It was dedicated to the service of God November 3, 1876, in honor of SS. Malachi and Columbkill, to the latter of whom Father Fanning claims relationship. The dedicatory services were performed by the Rev. Dean Terry, of Ottawa, whose praise is in all the churches, assisted by the Rectors of Fairbury, El Paso and Batavia.

In June, 1878, the Rt. Rev. Bishop Spaulding, of the new See of Peoria, administered sacrament of confirmation to 106 persons. The congregation consists of 125 families, averaging 5 members each.

The officers of the Church consist of the Rector, Father Fanning; Mr. David Fitzgerald, who succeeded M. W. Dillon, Collector of Rents; and Mr. and Mrs. Dennis O'Connor, Custodians. To these assistants, the Reverend Father and the Church are under great obligations—especially so to the latter, whose services are of a nature to demand and receive exacting attention, which is rendered in love and veneration.

The difficulties which Father Fanning met at the very beginning of his faithful labors here have been overcome in such a way as to mark him a man of great tact in management, and his praise is on the lips of all.

The Baptist Church.-In January, 1866, serveral persons who were attached to the Baptist persuasion, and most of whom had been members of that denomination before coming here, met and formed a Sabbath school, having in contemplation a church organization. Such organization was effected in March of that year by Rev. Samuel Bishop, consisting of twenty-two members. Preaching by pastors of that denomination was maintained, not very regularly, for the next two years. In 1868, a frame edifice was erected, about 25x40, which cost in the neighborhood of $3,500, and Rev. James Frey was secured as Pastor. Frey's services closed in September, 1869.

From August, 1870, till October, 1871, Rev. Charles Wilcox was Pastor. From October, 1871, to October, 1873, Rev. A. S. Ames; from that date until January, 1875, Rev. A. Gross; from April 4, 1875, to October 1, 1876, Rev. T. T. Potter, and for one year following, Rev. W. H. Wells, have successively served as Pastors. May 1, 1878, Rev. J. B. Brown commenced his present pastorate.

There are at present about one hundred and twenty-five active members. One of the most interesting occasions to this Church was in October, 1874, when forty members were added to the Church, under the then charge of Elder Ames, as the results a special protracted effort.

The Trustees of the Church are W. A Haynes, J. T. Howard and E. Dunham. The Sabbath school, under the superintendency of W. A. Haynes, has an average attendance of about eighty, and eight teachers.

Methodist Episcopal.- Probably, in nine out of ten cases, the pioneer religious ministrations in all Western localities have been by the Methodists. In Chenoa's case, if it has been so, the writer has failed to find the person who is custodian of the information. In 1866 Rev. Mr. Day and Rev. John Barlow, P. E. of Washington District, were the ministers here, and in 1867, Rev. Mr. Day.

In the fall of this year, the Church commenced the erection of the present edifice, 38x55, frame, which, through bad management and poor contracts, was made to cost $4,000. But it is out of debt, and answers the purpose as well as though it had been built more economically. The Pastors since that date have been as follows: 1868, Rev. T. S. Rhodes, who soon resigned his work and left the field without supply; 1869, Rev. John Winsor, with Rev. Joseph Millsap, P. E.; 1870, Rev. John Taylor; 1872, Rev. John Luckcock; 1873, Rev. W.J. Giddings, with Rev. E. G. Hall, P. E.; 1874, 1875 and 1876, Rev. B. Applebee; 1877, Rev. T. McNair ; 1878, Rev. W. P. Graves.

There are in full membership sixty-eight. The Sabbath school has an average attendance of about seventy, with eight teachers. Prof. J. A. Miller is Superintendent; Jacob Ballinger, Assistant.

The Salem M. E. Church, located in the extreme southeastern part of the township, was organized in 1866. The membership, at its organization, consisted of C. J. Gilispie, Davis Parkhill, their wives, and one or two others. The first services were conducted by Rev. J. S. Millsap, who then resided at Lexington. Rev. A. E. Day was the first regular Pastor of the Church after its organization. Meetings bave been held in the schoolhouse in that vicinity, and at the residence of G. A. Wolff, regularly, to the present time, though no definite steps have been taken to erect a house of worship until a recent date. At the present time, a church-edifice is in process of erection on Section 36, which, when completed, will be a neat and convenient building for the purpose. Its proposed cost is $1,000. The membership of the Church now numbers twenty-seven. Rev. John Rogers is present Pastor.

Congregational.—The Congregational Church of Chenoa was organized July 21, 1867, by Rev. Elisha Jenney, who was Superintendent of Home Missions, and Rev. H. G. Pendleton, who had for some weeks been visiting families and preaching in the neighborhood. Mr. Jenney preached on that occasion from the 730 Psalm, 21st verse, Mr. Pendleton giving the right hand of fellowship. The original members numbered serenteen. Mr. Pendleton continued to minister to the little Church, growing steadily in numbers, until April, 1872. The Church was received into the Central Association, at El Paso, the year it was organized. A mission Sunday school was maintained and a weekly prayer-meeting, with great regularity. Rev. W. B. Williams was Acting Pastor

[graphic][ocr errors][merged small]
« AnteriorContinuar »