Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

by a furnace. The building is characteristic of the people, being plain, but substantial. It has no cupola, and has a side entrance. The cost of the building was $2,000. It proves too small for the purpose. It might do

It might do if it were not for the semi-annual communion, which the Brethren from all parts make it a point to attend. On these occasions, large numbers are unable to gain admittance. Previous to the building of the church, the communions were held for some years in a large shed, erected at the residence of John Y. Snavely.

The officers of the church, at present, are: Minister, Thomas D. Lyon; Elders, John Y. Snavely, Henry Forney, John L. Snavely; Deacons, Abram Blough, Samuel Stutzman, Moses Y. Snavely, John Forney, William Blough; Clerk, Francis M. Snavely.

WARS AND POLITICS.

Hudson had no men in the Black Hawk war. There were but few in the township, and these were too old or too young. As a reminiscence of the Black Hawk war, we clip the following from the Bloomington Pantagraph : The first man buried in Hudson Township was Mr. Solomon Lewis, a veteran of the Black Hawk war. Lewis was a soldier in Capt. Brown's command in the regular army, stationed near Danville. When the Black Hawk war broke out, in the spring of 1832, the company were ordered to report at Fort Willburn, a military post near where the city of Peru Dow stands. On the march thither, Capt. Brown camped at Havens' Grove, where Lewis took sick, and was left at Havens' House, where he died and was buried. When the war was over, Capt. Brown, on learning of the untimely end of his brave soldier, detailed a Sergeant and twelve men to pay the last honors of war over their comrade's new-made grave. The Pantagraph is under obligations to Mr. George P. Ela for the foregoing facts.

We did not learn of any who went from this township to the Mexican war, but, during the “late unpleasantness,” Hudson furnished her full quota. Not only did she furnish men to go to the front; she left her sons on the field of battle. A strange mortality was visited upon the Hudson troops. We were told that about thirty persons from this township went out never to return. We were sorry that we could not ascertain the names of all the brave men who fell on Southern fields and died in Northern hospitals. William H. Chadbourne died from the effects of disease ; Wellington R. Sanders was shot at Vicksburg, Miss.; William Jones died of disease; Erwin Clark was shot at the battle of Corinth; Shepherd Richardson was also shot and killed; James Richardson died from the effects of disease; Alfred Burtis and his brother, James Burtis, both died at Camp Butler before reaching the scene of action; Michael Bare, Francis M. Gastman and Walter Stuckey all died in the service; in like manner, Robert Huston, Jacob Guyer and Jacob Reynolds were sacrificed in the Union cause. These were all citizens of Hudson and were from the prominent elements of her society. Besides these, there were a number of young men working for the farmers in the country, who volunteered, and died in the South, but whose names are now forgotten. They rest in their soldiers' graves, bereft of personal honors, but forming an essential element of the nation's glory.

In political matters, Hudson is Democratic. When national or State questions come up, and discussions run high, and political feeling is thoroughly aroused, they turn out a good vote here, the Democrats generally carrying the day by a good majority. In township elections there is not much party strife, one ticket generally being all that there is in the field.

RAILROADS AND HIGHWAYS.

The Illinois Central Railroad, which was completed through the township in 1851, is the only one crossing its territory. This road did much to settle up the prairies, and although it has often tried to trample on the interests of the community by exorbi. tant freights, it has always relented when the people began to haul to and from other roads. There is a considerable amount of grain and stock shipped by it, and the people would realize much difficulty if it were cut off. At the time of building, there was a great rush to get the road completed within the specified time. Everybody that could be had was employed for a time on the portion of the road in the immediate vicinity of Mackinaw Creek. A large force was kept constantly employed night and day. Provisions and feed sold high. The farmers made money then, but it did not last long.

Most of the section lines are public thoroughfares. Diagonal roads are not numer

One of the most important roads is one leading from the village of Hudson to Normal and Bloomington. It follows the section line between Sections 33 and 34, and then turns toward the railroad track. Another road that does not follow section lines altogether may be found passing on the line between Sections 32 and 33. North of this, it follows the east edge of Havens' Grove, but finally finds its way back to the section line. There is another diagonal, zigzag road through the north tier of sections. It comes in from Money Creek Township, and crosses the Mackinaw near the Illinois Central Railroad. The roads are kept in good repair, so far as we were able to learn. The oblique roads described, with those following section lines, furnish all the necessary outlets for farmers and others wishing to cross the country.

There are several small streams bridged by wooden bridges, but we found none made of iron.

ous.

ORGANIZATION. There was a voting precinct at Hudson for a long time. The voters from White Oak used to come over to vote here; but in the adoption of the township system, Hudson included only one Congressional town. When the first election thereafter was held, April 6, 1858, it resulted in the election of the following township officers: James A. Cox, Supervisor; Henry Conkling, Town Clerk ; Alfred S. Weeks, Collector; Warren Coman, Assessor; John W. Hatfield, Overseer of the Poor; Jacob H. Burtis, Jr., Stephen Arthur, Benjamin Wheeler, Commissioners of Highways; Hiram Havens and James Nighbarger, Justices of the Peace; Isaac Messer and Enoch A. Gastman, Constables. It will be seen that many of the earliest settlers were represented in this list of officers, and by comparison, that some of the same elected twenty-one years ago, are officers yet. The present list of public servants is as follows: Alfred S. Weeks, Supervisor ; Thomas Lewis, Town Clerk; Edgar Sager, Collector; John Ferguson, Assessor; George W. Gastman, Daniel Gonder, Jesse Platt, Commissioners of Highways; George W. Gastman and Dr. James Johnson, Justices of the Peace; Frank Evans, Constable.

HUDSON.

The village of Hudson is located on the Illinois Central Railroad, six miles north of Normal. It is pleasantly situated, being near the eastern edge of Havens' Grove, in the prairie. In the immediate vicinity of the town, the land is rather level, but the surrounding country is good. Portions of the village are very pretty. The surface is rolling, in many places, and, when covered with the green grass of spring, it is not inferior in beauty to many parts of more pretentious cities.

Hudson originated with the formation of the colony which settled the prairie east of Havens' Grove. Consequently, it is one of the oldest villages in McLean County. Bloomington was quite a small place when Hudson took its rise. The comparison is not now much to the benefit of the latter ; but when the amount of labor and energy that has been bestowed on the former is taken into consideration, we are not surprised. But Hudson does quite a local trade. The crossings of the railroads at other points have left it at the mercy of the single road sometimes ; but this has been overcome by the energy of its merchants, who do not propose to be imposed upon. Salt was, at one time since the building of the Illinois Central Railroad, hauled from Bloomington; but is not necessary now.

Hudson has two churches, which are quite creditable to so small a place as it is— a Baptist and a Methodist Church. The Methodist Church is the descendant of the one whose church-edifice stood, for a long time, down by the grave-yard, west of town. When that building became too small for the accommodation of the membership and usual congregations, the more commodious one in town was erected. This occurred in 1856, when a house 40x56 feet was erected. The present membership is not so large as it has been heretofore, although there are quite a list of names still on the books. The present Pastor is the Rev. T. R. McNair, who has had charge of the Methodist Church at Towanda and White Oak, also.

The Baptist Church in Hudson, although not as early organized as the Methodist, is in quite a prosperous condition, and bids fair to hold its own. In the first organiza tion, there were only thirteen members. Prominent among these may be mentioned J. H. Cox and wife, Samuel P. Cox and wife, Andrew Armstrong and wife, James Ambrose and wife and John Graves and wife. The first meetings were held in the schoolhouse. These services were conducted by Benjamin Thomas and A. S. Denison. These two men united their efforts in a protracted meeting. This was in 1855. A. S. Denison organized the first church, and served as its Pastor the first two years. After him, James Cairns took charge. He remained a long time. It was during his pastorate that the church was built. This church-edifice is a handsome frame building, 36x10 feet. It was erected in 1859 and 1860. The cost of construction was $2,000. The present membership is about eighty. As illustrating the hold which the Pastor, Mr. Cairns, had upon his people, it is stated that, when he left Hudson for Fairbury, sixteen of the members moved with him and went to the same place. The present Pastor is the Rev. S. G. Miner. The ministers in charge since the first organization, and their order, have been as follows : A. S. Denison, James Cairns, Rev. Mr. Sturgeon, John Sawyer, E. J. Thomas, S. G. Miner.

The business interests of Hudson are looked after by several firms. Cox & Aldrich run a large general store on the corner near the depot. They also carry on a drug store and lumber-yard. They own one of the elevators, and operate the other. They deal extensively in grain of all kinds, their principal shipments being of corn and oats. Some rye is also handled. Carlock & Brothers keep a general store. A. Bistorious is a dealer in groceries. Adam Schoberlein adds boots and shoes to a line of groceries. H. Hasenwinkle owns the mill. It has three runs of buhrs, and does a very fair business. There are three blacksmith-shops. Thomas Calem operates one, William Lupton another, and William Hurshey the third. He also keeps a carriage and repair shop and a wagonshop. John Jewell runs another wagon-shop.

MOSAIC LODGE, NO. 628, A., F. & A. M. This Lodge was chartered by the Grand Lodge at its annual session, held in October, 1869, by Harmon G. Reynolds, then Grand Master of the State of Illinois. The name selected by the brethren, though a very appropriate one, as applying to individuals, cat scarcely be considered so when applied to this Lodge. The name Mosaic, as originally applied to the pavement of King Solomon's temple, signified that “human life was checkered with good and evil,” and, while this Lodge has had some ups and downs, it is peculiarly noteworthy that the organization has pursued the even tenor of its way, seeking notoriety neither by great display or a noticeable lack of good works. In regard to membership, it has “held its own" since its organization, seeking to build into its temple only such timber as the Master Architect would approve. And so we find that, in 1879, it numbers about thirty members. The first Master was George W. Jewell. The present officers are: Daniel Gonder, W. M.; D. H. French, S. W.; M. F. Moats, J. W.; George Stoll, Treasurer ; R. H. Dement, Secretary; F. R. Johnston, S. D.; John Jewell, J. D., and J. A. Miller, Tiler. With but few changes, the above brethren have held the offices for nearly the whole decade of the Lodge's existence.

The night of meeting on the “checkered floor,” is on the Friday on or before the full moon of each month.

Hudson takes pride in her schools. The building is the same one erected by the colony at the first organization of the village. Although it is thus somewhat antiquated, it affords comfortable apartments for the aspiring young people of the village. There are two teachers employed. Hudson, like the other small towns of McLean, reaps a large benefit from the State Normal University, at Normal. Graduates from this institution teach Hudson's schools, and yet the village is smaller than the aspiring young alumni of that institution usually prefer to select as the scene of their pedagogical feats. Miss Nettie Cox, a graduate of the Class of 1877, is now teaching here. She is the daughter of the merchant whose business proclivities are the life of Hudson.

DALE TOWNSHIP. Dale Township is in the western part of McLean County. It is one of those townships which cuts off bits from several of the early settlements. It has no grove of importance lying entirely within its boundaries, although there is considerable timber in little patches, the largest entire grove being Hougham's, or Harley's.

Dale includes one Congressional town, designated Town 23 north, Range 1 east of the Third Principal Meridian. It is bounded on the north by Dry Grove Township, on the east by Bloomington, on the south by Funk’s Grove, and on the west by Allin Township. On the north side, it cuts into Twin Grove, taking off a strip of timber about one and one-fourth miles long, and one-half mile wide. On the east side there is some timber, and in the southern part is Hougham's or Harley's Grove. Across the northwest corner, Big Slough and another little stream pass. Brooks Branch of Sugar Creek rises near Covell. The largest stream through the township is the branch

of Sugar Creek which comes from Bloomington, and cuts off quite a large triangle from the southeast corner of the township. Dale is well watered. It lies in a kind of valley or swag in the prairie. The north side is higher, and so is the southeastern corner, occupied by Shirley and vicinity. The valley extends in a southwesterly and northeasterly direction.

The Chicago, Alton & St. Louis Railroad, main line, crosses the southeast corner of the township, coming in from the northeast, near the northeast corner of Section 25, through the corner of Section 36, and then through Section 35. The Indianapolis, Bloomington & Western Railroad crosses the northeast corner of the township, passing in a northwesterly direction through Section 1, and cutting off a small corner from Section 2. The Jacksonville Division of the Chicago, Alton & St. Louis Railroad enters the east side at the middle of the east side of Section 12. It passes southwest, through Section 13, and then turns almost directly west, and so continues through the township. It will thus be seen that Dale is well crossed by railroads. The I., B. & W. cannot be said to be of much advantage, but the two branches of the C., A. & St. Louis Railroad furnish two shipping points within its limits—Covell and Shirley.

The soil is black, deep and fertile. There are some portions which it is necessary to drain. Occasionally, a natural pond may be seen, and considerable of the land is flat. But there is an immense amount of corn, oats and potatoes raised. At the small station of Covell alone, we noticed 35,000 to 40,000 bushels of corn in the crib.

Cattle are raised, and hogs abound. The facilities for shipping are excellent, and many things conspire to make the farming community comfortable and independent.

EARLY SETTLEMENTS.

The early history of Dale is closely allied to the history of other townships, particularly to that of Dry Grove Township. Twin Grove was first settled, so far as can now be ascertained, by Stephen Webb and William McCord. William McCord, Stephen Webb, George and Jacob Hinshaw left Tennessee in June, 1827. They came west and north until they reached the Ohio River, having no trouble and a pleasant journey. From the Ohio, they experienced difficulty and trial on every hand. The swollen streams often caused them much delay. On these occasions they would be compelled to ferry their goods across in canoes, and swim their horses and cattle. When, at last, they reached Cheney's Grove, George Hinshaw said he would go no farther. The others came on and settled at Twin Grove. William McCord remained until the spring of 1831, when he left for Woodford County. He there settled in Panther Grove, being the fourth family in that settlement. The cabin that he built is said to be still standing

Stephen Webb still lives at Twin Grove, but not on the original farm. The descendants of Hinshaw may be found in the same neighborhood.

At about the same time that the Hinshaw-McCord company came West, Elander Hurst and Matthew Harbert came to Twin Grove from Sangamon County, this State. Harbert was the first to own the Daniel Munsell place, but this was in Dry Grove Township. Elander Hurst settled on the southeast side of the Grove, in Dale.

Just west of Mr. Hurst was a Mr. Ellis, who came to the Grove very early, but the particulars of whose life we failed to learn. He afterward moved north, to the Galena lead-mines.

« AnteriorContinuar »