Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

Lorenzo, of evangelist fame. It was the custom in those times for the teacher to “ board round," but Dow preferred to board himself at the schoolhouse. He lived entirely on vegetable diet, nearly all of which consisted of apples, potatoes and corncakes, which he had stored in large quantities beneath the floor of the school-room. It was the custom then at Christmas to demand of the teacher a treat, and in the event of any

hesitation on the part of the master, he was barred out of the house. The boys, however, never found Dow outside, as he boarded there, and, when Christmas came that winter, the master assumed to have the advantage of the boys, and declined to stand the apples and cider demanded. But the boys were not to be baffled so easily, and with a preconcerted action seized upon the teacher and dragged him, squirming and kicking, from the house. Rushing inside, they closed the door, and another parley ensued, without the effect, however, of bringing the obstinate Dow to terms.

At last, after a short council of war had been held by the boys, they opened the door and allowed the master to enter. He thought then he had won the day, but the movement of the boys was only a little strategy to again get him in their hands. He was accordingly again grabbed and carried to the creek wbich ran close by. The ice was cut, and they were about to immerse him in the chilly flood, when he gave up and promised to treat. Then were disclosed the stores of apples, cider, potatoes and hominy beneath the puncheon floor. All helped themselves to the viands ; a good time was had ; the parents praised their boys' pluck in whipping out the master; and then the school proceeded as before.

A few years later, a schoolhouse was erected in the southeastern part of the township, in the Kickapoo Creek settlement, and owing to the large tracts of land held by the families heretofore named, and the sparsely-settled condition of the township, no other schools were organized for more than twenty years, though the old buildings, with the puncheon floors, seats and desks, long before that time, gave way to better houses. As indicating the progress made in this township, in 1858, there were reported two schools, with fifty-two pupils; in 1868, five schools, with two hundred and eighty pupils; and at this time again ten years later, six schools, with about three hundred scholars. In 1858, the total expenditure for sustaining schools was a little less than three hundred dollars, while in 1878, it was nearly as many thousands.

RELIGION.

Were we to judge this township by the number of church spires, we should say that there is but little of the article here, as the large township contains but one church. However, the people here are not without all of the church privileges requisite to a high standard of Christianity. The church mentioned is near the center of the township, and this furnishes accommodations for all in its vicinity; while churches at McLean, Waynesville, Shirley and Heyworth count among their strongest supporters citizens of this township. The Methodist Church of Funk's Grove was organized at a very early day. The little log schoolhouse mentioned above was built for religious as well as educational purposes, and here, at about the same time, the church was established by Adam Funk, Robert Funk, Robert Stubblefield, John Stubblefield, Mrs. Brock and a few other women. It may be said that the church at the time was a family affair, as the parties were nearly all related, the two Stubblefields named having married sisters of Robert Funk. The society worshipped in the little log schoolhouse and its successors

until 1866, when the present comfortable house of worship was erected. It is a good frame building, 36x50 feet in size,'and cost $3,500. The country in the vicinity of the church is sparsely settled, there being so many large farms; and the number of members does not, at present, exceed thirty. Sunday school is sustained during the summer, but during winter it is suspended. Rev. Mr. Shinn is the present Pastor.

DESCRIPTION.

Funk's Grove Township is bounded on the west, north and east, respectively, by Mount Hope, Dale and Randolph Townships ; and on the south by DeWitt County. This township consists of all of Congressional Town 22, Range 1 east, and the north third of Town 21, in same range. It is one of the best watered townships in the county, seeming to be the natural home for stock of various kinds common to this climate. Indeed, this has long been a notorious stock region. The Kickapoo and branches of Sugar Creek flow from the northeast to the southwest. The land is of a first-class quality, well adapted to the raising of corn, rye, oats, wheat and vegetables of various kinds. The Chicago & Alton Railroad, built in 1852, passes through the northwestern corner, affording at the station and at McLean an outlet for the vast products of this section. A switch is the only improvement at the station, and was located at the request of Isaac Funk, and for the accommodation of his estate.

OLD TOWN TOWNSHIP.

There is not a railroad coming into Bloomington, which carries its passengers through a prettier country—a country more attractive to the eye, and one which would attract the attention of strangers more quickly—than does the La Fayette, Bloomington & Mississippi Railroad as it passes through Old Town Township. As one travels orer this road, he gets a very fair view of almost the entire township. This road extends east and west through the center of the third tier of sections from the north. The rolling prairies stretch far away to the north, while on the south may be seen, extending the entire length of the township, the irregular edge of the Old Town Timber.

This township derived its name from the belt of timber which crosses its southern border. This

grove is some eighteen miles long, and two to three miles wide. It follows no water-course, but passes directly east and west, without regard to the “lay of the land." It derived its name from the old Indian town on its northern border. Old Town is an exact Congressional township, and lies just south of the center of McLean County. It is designated Town 23 north, Range 3 east of the Third Principal Meridian. It is bounded on the north by Towanda Township, on the east by Padua, on the south by Downs, and on the west by Bloomington Township. It is crossed by the headwaters of Kickapoo Creek. The little stream enters from Padua, at the southeast corner of Section 13. It flows west to the northeast corner of Section 22, and thence south to near the south west corner of Section 33. All the northern part of the township is prairie, with the exception of Island Grove, a little patch of timber near the center.

The prairies are rolling, and are covered by fine farms and elegant residences. The soil is good, and yields largely of either corn or oats. Corn is the principal product. Oats come next. Potatoes and grass do well. A large portion of the corn is shipped,

but not all. A considerable amount of hogs and cattle are shipped. Very little wheat is produced. Beside the La Fayette, Bloomington & Mississippi Railroad already mentioned, Old Town is crossed by another. The Indianapolis, Bloomington & Western Railway. This road crosses the southwest corner of the township, entering from the southeast, near the southeast corner of Section 32, and leaving near the southwest corner of Section 30. There are two flag-stations in the township-Holder, on the east side, on the L., B. & M. R. R., and Gillum, in the southwest, on the I., B. & W.

EARLY SETTLEMENT.

same name.

When emigrants began to come into McLean County, it was not long before every grove had its cluster of pale-faces. Not only do we find that every cluster of trees brought early settlers, but larger belts were soon surrounded. The first settlement of Old Town Timber was begun farther east than the present limits of the township of the

But it was not long until a settlement was made on Kickapoo Creek. In the spring of 1826, William Evans built the first cabin ever erected in Old Town. He came from the settlement at Blooming Grove. He went to work, and, by the spring of 1827, he had enough prairie broken to permit of quite a crop. But all his hopes were destined to be overthrown. In September, 1827, there came a hurricane which demolished his crops, swept away his fences and destroyed his dwelling. After so severe a disaster, he was too much disheartened to rebuild his scattered improvements, so he moved to Blooming Grove. It will thus be seen that the first attempt to establish a dwelling in this populous and beautiful township, was a failure. The elements were against it, and who could prevail ? The same hurricane that dealt such a heavy blow to Mr. Evans, destroyed much of the Old Town timber. Where it passed through, the forest was leveled to the ground. There still may be seen a few trunks of the large trees that were uprooted by the gale. The present growth of timber has sprung up since the storm.

The next man to arrive at Kickapoo Creek, in this township, was, probably, William Maxwell. He came from North Carolina about 1829, or, possibly, as late as 1831. He lived on Kickapoo Creek until his death, which occurred in 1837. He had three

They all moved away to Iowa. One daughter now lives in Le Roy. Her husband's name is Henry Dickerson. John Bishop came in 1830. He is now living in Bloomington. In 1833, William Bishop arrived. His wife, the mother of Dr. Bishop, , in Bloomington, is still living. At about this time, John Hendryx came. He is not the man who first settled in Blooming Grove, but quite another person, and is no relation. He had several children, the most prominent of whom is Mrs. Lewis Case. On the 26th of July, 1833, Lewis Case and family moved into the little settlement begun on the Kickapoo. Mr. and Mrs. Case are now the oldest settlers living in the township, though there are others living in different parts of the county who lived in Old Town before they did. The Cases came from Seneca, N. Y. Mr. Case was born in 1809, and Mrs. Case in 1810. They have four daughters now living, but none reside in the township. When Lewis Case came, he found Isaac Haner here. Teams were scarce in those days, and even a good pair of oxen were not always to be had, so Mr. Haner had yoked his cows, and with those prepared the soil for the seed. In the fall of 1833, Archibald Martin arrived. He afterward moved over into Padua Township, and died there. In the fall of the same year, Abner Case and family came. Abner Case was the father of Lewis, and moved into his house when he first arrived. Mrs. Case loves to tell the story of their winter's residence in the cabin. Lewis Case and family, the family of Abner Case, of Charles Lewis and of Thaddeus Case all lived within the narrow limits of one small cabin. This cabin had but one room, and that was not more than fourteen

sons.

square. A log house was the best kind for this sort of crowding The logs were bored into and pins driven in, which supported one side of the bedstead. One leg was all that this primitive style of bedstead required, the places of the others being taken by two sides of the wall. The trundle-bed then did its best service, for it was not possible to find sleeping-room for thirteen persons within a space fourteen feet square, and this partly occupied by household goods, without the doublelayer system so easily introduced by a trundle-bed. Trunks and boxes of all kinds bad to be perched on wooden pins in the wall. And yet those were days in which the fabric of life was fraught with as much joy as are the more recent times, with all the luxuries of a more advanced civilization. How many of the poorest in our midst would dare to brave the hardships of pioneer life? But the necessity of such trying circumstances is now past. Even the frontier settlements in the Far West are not compelled to endure the trials and privations that were once common in this country.

In 1834, James Cowden came from Kentucky. The family located in the southwestern part of the township, and some of the descendants still reside there. Paul Lebo came later, probably about 1837. He first stopped in Padua, but afterward came into Old Town. He was killed by the falling of a tree. The accident occurred in the Old Town Timber, just south of Lewis Case's residence. Mr. Lebo had succeeded in getting the tree partly down, but it had lodged in another tree. On cutting the second tree, he started to run, and, just as he was about clearing the length of the tree, one of the upper branches struck him on the head and crushed his skull. His son was on the ground at the time, and witnessed the accident.

The Campbell family came in 1837. Mr. Campbell was born in Ireland, but came to this township from Bourbon County, Ky. He was what they called a rich man, in those days. He brought with him $1,400 in money.

He had four sons. They own considerable land in the southeastern part of the township, and are prominent citizens of that locality.

From this time on, the immigrants followed each other in such an irregular way that it would be impossible to trace them. It was a long time before the northern part of the township was settled. Although the prairie was as charmingly located as it could be, the early settler did not venture upon it. There were a few who had made their homes on the prairie in 1854. In this year, the first of the settlement now in the northeast corner of Old Town and adjoining townships was made by John R. Benjamin, who came from Columbia County, N. Y. He belongs to the Friends, and was the forerunner of the settlement formed by them.

[ocr errors]

EDUCATIONAL. The first school in this township is very vividly remembered. There are no doubts as to its location, or who was the teacher. Mr. and Mrs. Lewis Case were anxious to see their children enjoying the benefits of a good education. There were others, too, that longed to get their little ones within the limits of some educational institution. But the want of a building made it difficult to begin. It was thought

that the smoke-house, belonging to Mr. Case, might suffice for the present need ; but on farther consideration, it was concluded to use the spare room in his barn. The barn was a new one; and, though the thought is diverting, doubtless furnished more comfortable apartments than many of the first buildings erected especially for school purposes. The school was taught in the summer, and, of course, no fire was necessary. The horses could occupy one side and the school the other—at the horses' heads. This barn is standing yet; and the marks on the old barn-door, which answered as a kind of schedule, long remained to tell the story of regularity or irregularity of the members of that little school.

The teacher of this little flock was Callista Stanton. She had eight pupils. As a compensation for her services, duly and faithfully performed, she received the munificent sum of $1.50 per week. This was the summer of 1838. Miss Stanton was a very fairly educated lady. She remained in the county and continued teaching for a long time. What remuneration she afterward received for her labors as “school ma'am,” we do not know, but it is to be hoped that the directors never concluded to reduce her salary on account of “hard times." After this, a log schoolhouse was built, and a male teacher employed. Schools multiplied and houses were built, until now there are eight districts instead of the one in 1838. How many children there were then, under twenty-one, we do not know, but not, probably, more than 25 ; now there are 407. The number, then, between six and twenty-one, was about 15; the same heading now shows 264. The number of pupils then enrolled was 8; at present there are 221. No school buildings bad then been erected, while seven beautiful schoolhouses now furnish the youth of the township comfortable apartments in which to pursue a course of instruction, without the necessity of sheltering themselves either in smoke-houses or barns. The total amount paid their teacher, had she continued teaching for nine months, would not have reached $50. The actual amount was $15. Now the township pays annually, for teachers, $1,966.07, with a total expenditure of $2,897.06 per

The estimated value of school property is $3,100. The highest wages paid for teaching is $45 per month.

CHURCHES. The first to hold meetings here were the Methodists. There had been preaching at the residence of Mr. Frankenbarger, in Padua. Mrs. Case tells how thankful she was when they got an ox-team and wagon, so that they could go to meeting. Not everybody could afford a wagon in which to ride to meeting. It was a luxury that was to be appreciated. There was soon a sufficient number of members around the residence of Lewis Case to justify the formation of a class. This class met at the cabin on Sundays for prayer and class meeting, their regular circuit preaching being held during the week. The Rev. Mr. Royal was the the first circuit preacher. Circuit preachers traveled over vast scopes of country and established places of meeting wherever there was an opening. They preached a greater portion of the time, and, consequently had to make many of their appointments on week-days. The members of this first class were Abner Case, Jane Hendryx, Mr. and Mrs. Cusey, Eliza and Paul Lebo, Mrs. Hartley and Rachel Case. A number of the young men who came to prayer and class meeting here, finally became ministers. William Orange held a protracted meeting in the cabin. It was continued a long time and resulted in the addition of many new members to the little class of eight. The cabin, the residence of

annum.

« AnteriorContinuar »