« AnteriorContinuar »
The large farm known as the “Harpole farm "lies just opposite these farms, consisting of the east half of Section 10 and all of Section 11, at the head of the timber, and includes the separate grove known as “ Funk's Bunch.” The Mackinaw runs across both sections, and that it is one of the best cattle-farms in the town or county is evidenced by the fact that it was early selected by Mr. Isaac Funk for one of his farms, and he was never known to select anything but the best when he had his choice. In 1858, he put J. S. W. Johnson on it, to improve it and feed cattle. Johnson was a good manager,
and continued in control of it until 1866, when he died. Mr. Funk having died, it came into possession of his son George, who sold it to Peter Harpole. At the latter's death, two years later, his widow went to Bloomington to live. Alfred Harpole now has charge of it, carrying about two hundred head of cattle, feeding some, but, like all these farmers, much fewer than they formerly did. There is abundance of water, fine feedyards, good buildings and good accommodations.
Soon after this, the prairie began to be made into farms. Prof. Turner had demon. strated that the Osage orange, which was a native of a southern clime, would stand our winters, and could make a fence. Coal had been found to burn well, and it began to appear that men could live on these prairies. Capt. James Kennedy (or Jeems, as he insists upon calling it,) is a character which few men in Martin do not know, and whom to know is to get acquainted with at once. Born and raised in the blue-grass region of Kentucky, he found, as his boys grew up around him, that he ought to get out of that country, not that he cxpected to find any better one, but his shrewd foresight told him that the stern logic of events must lead to war sooner or later, and he did not want to be in it. He knew that this country never could be divided, and that the attempt would be made, and he did not mean to be in it. He was a firm Whig in politics, and expected always to be.
In 1852, he sold out there and came to Bloomington with means enough to buy him a good farm and stock it. Being particular about his future home, he did not buy at once, but rented a farm at Bloomington on the Peoria road. He carefully looked over all this country, and found in the place he now lives on, Section 21, just what suited him, but it was not for sale. Peter Folsom, who owned it, was holding it, but afterward sold to Alexander Miller, and Capt. Kennedy bought of him.
He had been Captain of the militia, in Kentucky, and raised a company for the Mexican war, but it was not accepted, as the regiments were all full. He brought a thorough-bred, short-horn herd with him from Kentucky, and was one of the early and most efficient friends of the County Agricultural Society, of which he was for some years President. In 1860, he was the candidate of the Democrats for Representative from this county.
He is full of early incidents, one of which is worthy of repeating, as showing the currency troubles of olden times. He started once on a business trip to Bloomington, Ind., and took money out of the bank at Bloomington, before starting. Arriving at Terre Haute, he stepped on the cars, and, when the conductor came around, he had not a bill which would pass in the sovereign State of Indiana. He tried every plaster he had, and none would fit on that soil. He asked the conductor what he must do, and received the reply that he would have to get off. He then asked whether, in the opinion of the conductor, he would be permitted to walk on the track after the train had gone, with that money in his inside pocket. This sally so amused the conductor that he did not put him off, and he got to the end of his journey by borrowing from an entire stranger.
After he bought the farm he now lives on, there were, for a time, so few people living here that they could not have a school. For a year they did keep a school in a private house, hiring the house-wife to teach it, but in 1865 and 1866 the rush of settlement was so great that schoolhouses were built, and everything moved off smoothly.
He has always taken a lively interest in public affairs, and especially in township affairs. For years this town has been without any pauper expense. He has been repeatedly elected Supervisor, and made a very useful member of the County Board. He has a good farm, bountifully supplied with fruit, and, at seventy-five, he is spending a green old age, with nothing to complain of, and few regrets. He does regret however, that the people of this prairie country did not earlier learn that they could get along without having to fence against other people's cattle. He says he did not know, until after the people over in Cropsey Township adopted their ordinance against cattle running at large, that it could be done. Had it been done twenty years sooner, it would have saved the farmers the millions they expended in fences.
Capt. Kennedy is a member of the Christian Church; has been a liberal supporter of religious affairs, and contributed largely to building four different churches. been three times married; is the father of six children, four of whom survive.
The following is the roll of officers who have been elected to the various township offices since its organization :
1859 1860 1861 1862 1863 1864 1865 1866 1867 1868 1869 1870 1871 1872 1873 1874 1875 1876 1877 1878
27 J. S. W. Johnson..... M. Brooke.......... E. W. Anderson ...... S. W. Bray.
...... H. C. Langstaff. 33 H. C. Langstaff.....
E. W. Anderson.. P. Horney. 30 H. C. Langstaff........ M. Brooke.... R. D. Anderson W. G. Anderson. 38J. S. W. Johnson .... M. Brooke..... W. G. Anderson.. J. W. Ritter. 33 R. Vill ns........ J. E. Wood
W. L. Anderson...... H.C. Langstaff, 31 W. G. Anderson... J. Pool.....
J. S. W. Johnson...., B. W. Smith. 63 W. G. Anderson.... B. J. Wiley.
B. W. Smith. A. Hudson.
B. J. Wiley....
W. L. Foster.
W. L. Foster. 94 J. Kennedy... W. P. Brooke...
. George Little J. E. Walden. 108 W. P. Brooke. W. R. Sinith.... Isaac Bunn.... W. L. Foster. 115 James Gillan .... M. S. Morris... 'J. (. Mundell. J. H. Richie. 76 James Gillan..... M. S. Morris... .J. 0. Mundell.. J. H. Richie. 90 Jacob Richie........... M. S. Morris, Isaac Bunn...... M. Brooke. 93 James Kennedy. M. S. Morris.. J. 0. Mundell.. William Penell. 85 J. Kennedy
M. S. Morris. G. W. Keller.. J. M. Wilson. 97 James Gillan ........ M. S. Morris.. G. W. Keller.. William Gillan. 84 James Gillan.. M. S. Morris.........G. W. Keller.. William Gillan. 77 James Gillan....... M. S. Morris......... G. W. Keller..... William Gillan.
Those who have served as Justices of the Peace are B. W. Smith, J. R. Williams, R. Horney, W. H. Anderson, N. Hawk, James Gillan, C. W. Spawr, D. Bierbower and S. T. Ridgeley. The following have been Commissioners of Highways: R. R. Williams, S. W. Wiley, H. C. Langstaff, C. Batterton, H. G. Anderson, A. S. Hudson, J. Lyons, L. Warner, J. Carter, J. Bunn, J. R. Williams, J. Twogood, William Wilson, S. Dean, Joseph Nye, William Hurt, T. Wilson, W. H. Anderson, L. J. Willhoite. Milton S. Morris, Treasurer of the School Trustees, reports, in 1877, the following: Number of school districts, 7; number of schoolhouses, 6; number of children under twentyone years, 419; number between six and twenty-one years, 276; number of children enrolled, 256 ; amount of school fund, $3,478; amount paid teachers, $1,786.66; total expense of every kind, $3,354. Like many other townships, Martin "fooled” away the school section, which, with proper care, would have made a fund large enough to support all the schools in the town.
OHURCHES. There are three churches in Martin, each being on the edge of the town, so that it accommodates others than the inhabitants of this township. The “ Antioch " Church, as its name would naturally indicate, belongs to the Christian denomination. Early in the settlement of the country, Elders W. G. Anderson, M. H. Knight, and other devoted men, began to assemble the people together on the Lord's Day and on other occasions, for religious meditation and instruction. A Sabbath school soon followed, and the audiences outgrowing the accommodations, it was determined to build a house for worship. A suitable piece of land was procured in Section 1, and a cemetery was laid out, and in 1873, the present Antioch Church was built, 30x45, a plain four-wall structure, costing $1,400. These brethren were greatly assisted in their building enterprise by S. W. Wiley, John Hinshaw and others. Dr. Green, of Potosi, together with Messrs. Anderson and Knight, have conducted regular religious services in the church.
The “ Martin Valley Christian Church was built in 1873, in the middle of Ritter's meadow, in the southeastern part of town. It is about 40x54, a plain building, without spire or decoration, and cost about $1,500. At the time it was built, it was understood that a road would be laid out on the section line running by it, but difficulties arose in regard to it, and it now seems likely that it will cost almost as much to make a road to it as the house originally cost. It is proposed to move it to Arrowsmith, and as most of those who now attend will be as near there as where it now stands, it will probably go. The gentlemen who were largely instrumental in the building, were John Nickerson, Joseph Goddard, William Hurt, Mr. Lopeman, Elias Buzic and Capt. Kennedy.
The “ Martin Valley ” United Brethren Church was built in 1869, at a cost of about $1,500. The building committee was James Gillan and Jacob Richie.
The township contains many excellent farms, some of the best of which have been already mentioned.
James Gillan, who for several years has represented the town on the County Board of Supervisors, came here from Tremont, Tazewell County, in 1865, and bought, and commenced improving, what is now a fine farm in Section 23. He is of Irish birth, and a man of excellent judgment, and is held in great respect. At that time land was selling at from $7 to $10 per acre.
Isaac Bunn, originally from Pennsylvania, esteemed by all one of the best farmers, came here in 1864. He farms three-quarters of a section in Sections 18 and 19. He has excellent land, good buildings, and is comfortably fixed. He formerly fed cattle largely, but that line of farming has become much depressed since the opening of the great cattle-fields of Colorado and the West.
John Ritter was here, on Section 34, as early as 1864, and James Hagler on Section 29 at the same date. They have both good farms and high rolling land. These men came at a time when they had their pick of thousands of acres of as good land as the sun ever shone on.
Jacob H. Richie, on Section 35, and Mr. Springer, on Section 36, have nice farms, and both are among the best farmers in town.
William Wilson has half of Section 16, which is also a well-managed farm. John Nickerson owns a large farm in Section 28, with fair buildings, extensive orchards and comfortable appointments. J. M. Sells has a fine farm of 480 acres, with comfortable buildings and improvements.
J. E. Walden was born in McLean County. Early went into the army, where he served until 1865. On coming home, he bought eighty acres of land in Section 27, where he still resides. His brother, Solomon K. Walden, lives on the large Hepline property, which has recently been purchased by Gen. Gridley. The two sections belonging to the Henlines had never been plowed until 1878, when the north one was put into corn, and the south one will be this
year. The Martin tract will also be planted this year for the first time. Renters on these new lands give two-fifths, and the chances are a premium at that.
There is noticeable throughout an appearance of thrift and healthy improvement. There are no very rich men to cause jealous emulation; no very poor to call for pity or pauper bills. A friendly Christian spirit seems to pervade. No neighborhood quarrels, and no expensive litigation have estranged friends or broken in upon the general good feeling
There is no post office in Martin, the people generally going to Arrowsmith or Say. brook on the south for trade and for postal facilities. They do not greatly desire railroads, either. They seem remarkably contented, peaceful, successful and happy. What more can any neighborhood want ?
BLOOMINGTON TOWNSHIP. W. H. H. ADAMS, President Wesleyan University, Bloomington ; was born in Effingham Co., 111., March 30, 1840, and is the son of Christopher B. and Sarah (Ganaway) Adams, who were early settlers of Illinois ; Dr. Adams' father was a farmer; the Doctor was engaged in farming from the time he was able to hold the hoe or handle the plow in the summer months, and in the winter attended the district schools. In 1862, he enlisted as a private in Company A, 11lth I. V. I.; he carried the musket the first nine months in the service; he was then elected Ist Lieutenant; he organized the first company of Contrabands for service; he was Captain of Company A Battery, doing service on the road from Columbus, Ky., to Mobile, Ala.; July 4, 1865, he resigned and returned to Ilinois, and in, 1865, entered the Preparatory School at Evanston, Ill. ; here he graduated; he then entered the Theological Seminary ; in 1870, he joined the Illinois Conference, at Shelbyville, and was stationed at different places in Illinois. In 1875, he became President of the Weslyan University.
E. J. ADAMS, grocer, Bloomington ; was born in Tioga Co., Penn., April 3, 1844, where he was raised and educated. He came to Illinois in 1865, engaging with the St. Louis & Jackson. ville Railroad Company, and, through meritorious conduct, was soon put in charge of a passenger-train, and continued as Conductor until 1874; he then began in mercantile business as traveling salesman for McMillen & Compton ; thence with Roush & Humphreys, wholesale grocers ; here he learned the business, and opened on his own account in 1878; his place of business is at 112 North Main street ; here he keeps a fine store, with a well-assorted stock of goods. He married Miss Susan C., daughter of Joseph Caswell, of Jacksonville, Ill., Dec. 20, 1872; they have three children.
AGLE & SONS, leather and findings; Bloomington. The representative firm in leather and findings is that of Agle & Sons, 205 S. Center street. (At Gowanda, N. Y., Ihey have a large leather manufacturing establishment. Their store here is stocked with their own manu. facture of goods. Those who are judges do not hesitate to pronounce their ods the best in the market. Their business here is conducted by Mr. George Agle, one of the junior members of the firm; he is a native of Erie Co., N. Y.; was born in 1815, and began learning the trade of a tanner with Charles Seigle, of Hamburg, N. Y.; he came West in 1861, and engaged in the hide and leather trade in this city, remaining here for five and a half years, and then returning to New York, where he was engaged in business for about six years; then again returned to Bloomington, and engaged in the hide and wool trade with Mr. J. Clark, this partnership lasting for two and a half years, when Mr. Agle again engaged in business alone, at his present location, where he has since remained; understanding the manufacture of leather and being thoroughly posted in all the detaiis of his business, he has met with very gratifying success, and has conducted his business so that the firm of Agle & Sons is well and favorably known to our business men and to the people.
C. S. ALDRICH, grocer, Bloomington; firm of Aldrich & Bro., wholesale and retail grocers, One of the leading stores of this class is that owned and conducted by Aldrich & Bro., located at 109 East Front street. They are careful and reliable business men, whose aim is to secure that patronage which shall result from the merits of their goods and fair dealing. They have exhibited an enterprise worthy of commendation, in always being among the first to secure seasonable articles, and always aim to keep only the best grades. C. 8. Aldrich is a native of New York, and son of Lucius and Mary A. (Thorp) Aldrich ; he was born Nov. 18, 1833. During his early life he obtained a good education, and for a number of years followed teaching; in 1860, he removed to Montgomery, Ala., and there engaged in teaching; and at the beginning of the late war, he returned to his home and organized a company and entered the army as 1st Lieutenant of the 85th N. Y. V. I., and from meritorious service was raised to the office of Major; he participated in many of the most severe engagements of the war ; he lay prisoner several months at