« AnteriorContinuar »
first, the business of the office was light, but, with the growth of the village and surrounding country, it increased until now it is fully four times the amount when he took charge, not with. standing that the territory has been lessened by new offices near by; in 1875, it was made a money-order office. Nov. 6, 1851, he married Miss Annie O'Brien ; they had three children; two living, viz. : William and Mary.
J. D. DOWNS, farmer and stock raiser; P. 0. Downs. The subject of this sketch was born in Downs Township, this county, where he lived until he was 24 years old; he then settled on his present place, locating on the part situated in Downs Township, where he lived until the winter of 1878, when he came to his present place. He married Miss Eliza A. Cowden, Feb. 20. 1868; they have four children, viz. : Frank E., Mary Y., Albert R. and Frederick Lawson. He owns 214 acres in this county; it is located three and a quarter miles southwest of Downs Station, on the I. B. & W. Railroad, and ten miles southeast of the city of Bloomington.
W. W. ELDER, grocer, Heyworth ; is a native of Hamilton Co., Ohio: he was born on his fuher's farm Sept. 19, 18:28. and lived there until he was 6 years of age, when, with his parerts, he moved to Fayette Co., Ind., where they engaged in farming, remaining eight years, when they came to Illinois and settled in McLean Co., and engaged in farming; in 1850, he began farming on his own account, and continued at same uniil 1850, when he came to Heyworıh and engaged in the grain business with Mr. Rutledge, and, the same year, built a dwelling-house, it being the first built within the town plat ; he was identified with the grain business at this point under different firm names until 1872. In August, 1862, he enlisted in Co. B, 91th Regt. I. V. I., and was elected 2d Lieutenant; was wounded at the battle of Prairie Grove, Ark., from which time until February, 1863, he remained in the hospital ; he then came home, and, in June, the same year, he received his discharge. In the winter of 1872, he engaged in his present business, and has twice held the office of Supervisor of this township; also Justice of the Peace and School Treasurer. Feb. 14, 1850, he married Miss Amanda J. Rutledge.
W. M. FOWLER, farmer and stock-raiser; P. O. Heyworth ; was born in Bosquoin, Hillsborough Co., N. H., Oct. 22, 1807, where he lived ten years, when, with his parents, he moved to Morgan Co., Ohio, where they engaged in farming; he lived there until he was 19 years of age. He then, Dec. 14, 1826, married Miss Mary Hutchins, who was born in Lincoln Co., Me.,
lov. 10, 1804; they have had ten children, six living, viz., Mary Ann, Jane, Sarah S., Margaret M., Louis and Sophia S. After his marriage, he engaged in farming on his own account near his father's place and followed the same eight years ; he then went to Washington (now Noble) Co., and engaged in farming; in 1861, he and his sons-in-law put an oil well down on the farm 147 feet deep, and took 3,000 barrels from same: he also gave leases for eight other wells; in 1865, he sold his place and came to Ilinois, and bought and settled on his present place; he now onns 240) acres, having shared considerable among the children. After his marriage, while in Ohio, he learned shoemaking, and had considerable trade in that business in connection with his farm.
GEORGE W. FREEMAN, farmer; P. 0. Heyworth ; was born in Oswego, N. Y., Dec. 27. 1827, where he lived about four years, when, with his parents, he moved to Wayne Co., where they lived until 1848; he then moved to Ohio and settled in Hancock Co.; engaged in railroading and lived there until 1853, when he went to California, going by overland route with ox-team: his object was mining, and he met with fair success; he remained there until summer of 1855. Nov. 14, 1850, he married Miss Martha Anderson, a native of Richland Co., Ohio; she remained in Ohio during his trip to California ; on his return from there, he went to Ohio and sold out his place and started for Iowa ; he stopped at Lyttleville, in McLean Co., on business, and, his wife being ill, he determined to remain until spring, when he rented a farm near his present place and lived on it a year; he then moved to a farm near by, thence to Heyworth, and served as a Constable five years; he next moved to Funk's Grove, thence again to Heyworth and thence to his present place, and has lived here since. He enlisted in the 94th I. V. I., but, upon exam. ination, he was rejected, owing to his lack of teeth. He has held the office of Constable and Collector; he has also served three years, and is now on his fourth term as Supervisor. He owns 255 acres, located three miles west and a half-mile north of Heyworth, which he has earned by his own labor. His parents, Morris and Orinda Freeman, were natives of New Jersey and Vermont. He was a contractor and builder, and, owing to a certain contract, he failed; and, though but 14 years old, the son engaged on the farm at $5 per month, in order to assist his mother, who died in 1859.
ABRAHAM FRY, farmer and stock-raiser ; P. O. Randolph ; was born in Greene Co., Penn., Jan. 6, 1816, where he lived until he was ten years of age ; when, with his mother, he went to Ohio and settled on a farm in Licking Co., Ohio; in August, 1826, his father died, while in Penn sylvania, on his return from Ohio, where he was improving a farm; shortly after this, the family moved to the farm in Ohio; though he was quite young, he made a hand at the plow, and lived with the family until his marriage, when he moved to an adjoining farm ; in 1854, he came to Minois, and, in the spring of 1855, he settled on his present place. He has been Assessor of this township about five years; he has taken an active interest in the schools of his neighborhood, and has been Director of the same for twenty consecutive years. In October, 1837, be married Miss Sarah Myers, who was born in Ohio, and died April 22, 1863 ; they had two children-Perryander and J. B. ; the former enlisted in the 94th I. V. I., and died at Springfield. Mo., Oct. 16, 1862. His present wife was Miss Elizabeth Bishop; they were married Nov. 3, 1861; she was born in this township; they had two children; one living- Mary ; Laura died June 25, 1873. He owns 430 acres in this township, which he has earned by his own labor and management.
J. W. FUNK, farmer and stock-raiser; P. O. Heyworth ; was born on his present place Jan. 11, 1832, and has always lived on the same; in 1865, after the death of his father, he took charge of the place. July 30, 1866, he married Miss E. C. Fryer; they have two children, Jessie A. and John W. He first took charge of the farm in 1865, after his father's death, and, in 1868, he received the same as his share of the estate ; his father, Jesse, was born in Clark Co., Ky., where he lived about six years; he then, with his parents, moved to Ohio; in 1824, he came to Ulinois ; and, in 1825, he settled on the present place and lived here until his death, Feb. 6, 1865. The present Mrs. J. W. Funk is a native of Scioto Co., Ohio ; she was born in Portsmouth, Aug. 30, 1813; her parents, John and Nancy A. Glover Fryer, were natives of Ross and Champaign Cos., Ohio; they were married in Portsmouth ; her parents were early settlers there; her father built the Government blockhouse at Urbana, and Mrs. Fryer has the ax he used for the same; there were fourteen men at work and but two axes. In 1865, they came to Illinois and settled at Lincoln, where he followed his trade of carpenter and builder, and resided there until 1869, when they went to Ohio, and remained there until 1873, when they came to McLean Co., and lived one year with their daughter; they, then, again went to Ohio, where they lived until 1876, and then came to AlcLean Co. again, and have lived here since.
T. D. HARTSON, stock-dealer; another of the old settlers and natives of McLean Co., who is probably as well and favorably known as any farmer and stock-dealer in the county: he was born in 1836, and, during his early life, he had to depend upon his own resources for geuing an education, as he was left an orphan at the age of 4 years ; his people, who were natives of New England States, came West while much of Illinois was yet but sparsely settled and improved, his father being one of the first settlers of De Witt Co., and establishing the first store in that county in 1830 Mr. Hartson has spent most of his time in agricultural pursuits and stock-dealing: his farm of 200 acres is located five and one-half miles south of Bloomington, on Sec. 7, Randolph Township. He, for the past three years, has been President of the McLean County Agricultural Society, which has been organized for the past twenty-six years; he is always ready to help forward any enterprise that he deems for the public good, and is well known as one of the entrgetic, enterprising and thoroughly reliable citizens of McLean Co.
DAVID HOUGJAM, farmer and machinist ; P. 0. Heyworth ; was horn in Highland Co., Ohio, Jan. 16, 1825; in 1835, he came to Mlinois with his parents and settled in De Witt Co.; in 1852, he came to Lyttleville, where he, Mr. Rust, and a brother-in-law, built the present saw and grist mill, and carried on the same eleven years ; he then sold out his interest, and has since followed farming and his trade of machinist; he formerly traveled with Mr. William Sievens, they repairing machinery and building mills in different parts of the State. He formerly carried the mail from Heyworth to Lyttleville, and was Postmaster of the latter place for a short time. Nov. 11, 1853, he married Miss Mary Rust, who was born in Monroe Co., Miss., June 9, 1824, ; they have six children, viz.: Francis M., George W., Mary F., Thomas Jeff., Louisa J. and David A. In 1850, he went to California by ox-team, and returned by Panama and New York.
WILLIAM F. IJAMS, farmer and stock-raiser; P. 0. Bloomington; was born in Muskingum Co., Ohio, on his father's farm, July 7, 1816, where he lived until he was 21 years of age. He married Miss Eley Robinson Feb. 2, 1837, who is a native of Licking Co., Ohio, and was born Oct. 25, 1818. The following December, he moved to a farm of his own, near by his parents, where he lived until 1852; he then came West, to Illinois, and settled in Marshall Co., where he engaged in farming, and lived there two years ; he then came to his present place, locating on the part situated in Downs Township; in 1868, he moved to his present residence. He is no office-seeker, his only offices being connected with the schools and roads. He owned 480 acres in this county, which he has deeded to his children, he managing the property during life. He has eight children-Mary Ann, William H., T. L., Sarah E., Edith, Eliza J., Samuel H. and Rosie.
H. A. KARR, farmer and stock-raiser; P. 0. Heyworth ; was born in Hamilton Co, Ohio, Aug. 5, 1830, where he lived nearly four years; he then moved with his parents to Illinois, and settled in McLean Co., where the present village of Hey worth now stands, where they lived twenty-two years; they then came to the present residence, both being on the same farm, and he has lived here since. At the age of 18, he worked around by the month, until he was 21 years old, making his residence at home; he then apprenticed to the carpenter's trade, and followed the same for fifteen years, being transient in this neighborhood ; he then took the management of 4 portion of his father's farm, and has followed the same ever since He owns 174 acres in this county, which he has earned by his own labor. He married Miss Mattie E. Sury, June 10, 1861, who was born in Hamilton Co., Ill. ; they have four children-Lyon, Grant, Mary and Frank. His parents, Walter and Eliza A. Karr, were natives of Sussex Co., N. J.: they were married in Hamilton Co., Ohio; he died March 20, 1879; she died June 3, 1843.
NATHAN LOW, boots and shoes, Heyworth ; is a native of MoLean Co., III., and was beira on his father's farm July 5, 1835, where he lived until 1855; he then visited St. Paul, Mion. In 1856, he, in company with A. J. Mason, engaged in the livery business in Bloomington, Ill. ; he continued in the business for six months, when he withdrew and went to Missouri, also visit. ing Omaha, Neb., to look after a claim, which he found had been “jumped.” In 1850, he engaged in the general merchandise business at St. Joseph, Mo., and in the following November he exchanged the same for the Denman House, in Bloomington, which he sold in December, 18:37, and went to Missouri; in the spring of 1858, he went as assistant wagon master in a Government train to Salt Lake City, being discharged there in November of the same year: from thence he went to California, stopping in San Bernardino Co.; thence to Los Angeles ; thence to San Francisco, in 1859; thence to Olympia, Washington Territory, where he conducted a sheep ranche until 1861; in July of that year, he took his stock to the Walla Walla Valley, and remained until 1862; he then went to Florence City, Idaho, and engaged in gold-mining, remaining until 1863, when he returned to Hey worth, Ill., via the Panama and New York route, arriving here in December, 18-3, when he engaged in farming in this township, and followed the same until 1867; he then went to Missouri, and engaged in the stock business ; in the spring of 1868, he engaged in his present business. He married Miss Annie M. Hill Nov. 30, 1865; she is a native of Holmes Co., Ohio ; they have five children.
D. H. McFARLAND, physician, Heyworth ; was born in the village of Licking Creek, Cumberland Co., Penn., Oct. 16, 1831, where he lived three years, when, with his parents, he moved to Mercersburg, in Franklin Co., Penn.; he lived there until he was 17 years of age; one year of this time he spent clerking in a general merchandise store, in Mercersburg. la 1848, with his parents, he moved to Clinton Co., Ind., and engaged in farming until 1852; he then, with his brother's family, went to Monongahela City, Penn., remaining one year, and then returned to Frankfort, Ind., and engaged as clerk in the iron, hardware and grocery business, remaining one year, when he again went to Monongahela City and clerked for twenty-eight months in a general merchandise and mining business; then returning to Frankfort, he engaged as clerk in the drug store of Dr. Dunn, and read medicine under Drs. Dunn, Byers and Carier for three years; he then went to Chicago and attended lectures at the Rush Medical College, in 1857 and 1858; he then returned to Frankfort and began the practice of medicine ; in 1859, be came to Heyworth and engaged in the dry-goods business with his brother J. C.; they continued one year, when the business was destroyed by fire; he then engaged in the drug business and office practice in Louisville, Ky. In 1861, he was commissioned as First Assistant Surgeon 15th Ind. V. I., and remained in the service one year, when, owing to ill health in his family, he resigned, and settled in Heyworth, and has lived there since. In 1868, he went to the Rush Medical College and presented himself for graduation ; he spent several months in the college hospital, and received his diploma by direct examination. June 22, 1859, he married Viss Miriam E. Dunn, of Indiana.
S. MANN, hardware, etc., Heyworth; was born in Galesburg, Knox Co., Ill., Sept. 12, 1842, where he lived one year, when, with his parents, he moved to Warsaw, Wyoming (. N. Y., where he lived eighteen years; he then went to Hornellsville, Steuben Co., N. Y., and apprenticed to the tinner's trade, remaining three and one-half years; he then went to Warsaw and engaged in the business on his own account, continuing fourteen months, when he sold out and went to Kansas City, Mo.; thence to Bloomington, Ill.; thence to Mason City, where he worked at his trade about one year, and then engaged in the business on his own account, continuing four years; he then came to Heyworth and established his present business ; at first, be started in a very small way, and, by close attention to business and good management, be kept steadily increasing his stock, until now it not only embraces all the goods found in his line, but includes a general tin, sheet-iron and copper manufactory, in which all goods in this line are made to order in any pattern ; he also deals in agricultural implements, and keeps a full variery of the best make on hand. Sept. 12, 1867, he married Miss Elmira Burnett, of Horuellsville, N. Y.; they had three children, two living-Frankie and Willie.
H. A. MYERS, farmer; P. O. Bloomington, box 991; was born in Licking Co., Ohio, Aug. 23, 1827, where he lived until 1864. He was married Dec. 25, 1849, to Miss Levina Schechter, or Richwood, Union Co., Ohio; she was born in Knox Co. When but 20 years old, he took up the management of the home farm and conducted the same until 1864; in 1851, he bought a farm adjoining his father's farm, of 183 acres ; in 1864, he sold the two farms and cane West. bringing with him 1,400 head of sheep, and located two miles east of Bloomington; he next moved to a farm six miles from Bloomington,'on Cheney's Grove road, containing 564 acres; le then came to his present place, located ten miles from Bloomington, and containing 257 acres. When he came West, he was largely interested in wool-raising; lately, he has confined himself to stock and general farming. They have had ten children, eight still living—Theodosia A., Henry S., Margaret C., James F., William F., Rose L., Jennie and James S.
SAMUEL NICKERSON, dry goods, Heyworth ; is a native of this township and born on his father's farm Sept. 16, 1849, where he lived eleven years; they then moved to a farm near
Heyworth, being there also about eleven years, when the family came to the village; he lived here two years; then went to Terre Haute, Ind., and engaged as clerk in a hardware store, remaining two years; he then returned to Heyworth, and was confined by sickness until the following August, when he visited the lakes in Wisconsin; returning in the fall, he remained until the spring of 1877; he then traveled east, visiting his father's native place in Maryland, and returned in July the same year. In the spring of 1878, he bought out Short & Dillon, formerly Wamsley Bros., and has conducted the business since. The business was first established by Wamsley Bros, about 1865, and was conducted by them until 1878, when they were superseded by Short & Dillon, who, in a few months, disposed of the business to Mr. Nickerson, who found that, with no experience and a depleted stock, his task of putting the business on a good footing was by no means a small one ; but, by close attention to business, coupled with the knowledge that in buying lay the chief point of selling, together with a cautious study of the wants of his trade, he soon had the satisfaction of seeing his business increasing, and each succeeding month adding to its variety and extent, until now it is conceded that his is the leading business in his line in Heyworth. Though gaining this point, he felt that, so long as there was a chance to benefit his trade, there was something for him to do, and to meet this point, he, on March 1, 1879, put his business on the cash basis, thus securing to his customers goods at prices which do not include the losses on bad accounts, which, in a credit business, are sure to occur in spite of the best jud
E. J. PASSWATER, farmer and stock-raiser; P. 0. Heyworth ; is a native of Hamilton Co., Ohio ;. was born Sept. 15. 1821, and lived in Ohio till 1830, when, with his parents, he came to Illinois and settled at the west end of Randolph Grove May 16, 1830. In the fall, his father entered the present place, and lived here until his death, Feb. 28, 1851. Mr. E. J. Pass water married Miss Almeda Savage, who was born in Kentucky and died Feb. 12, 1865. After his miarriage, he began business on his own account. After his father's death, he and his brother Clement took the management of the farm and bought an additional eighty acres. After his brother Clement's marriage, they divided the home farm, the original falling to E. J., where he has lived ever since. By his first marriage he had ten children, nine living—Martha J., Ann M., Rhoda C., Ervin P., Alice, Elizabeth, Levina, Enoch H. and George W.; Almeda died. Sept. 7, 1871, he married Mrs. Annie E. Jones Atchison, who is a native of this county; they have one child
- Emma May; she had two children by former marriage-Sarah G. and Charles N. ents, Pernell and Comfort Short, were natives of Delaware; she died April 25, 1844.
CLEMENT PASSWATER, farmer and stock-raiser ; P. 0. Heyworth ; was born on his father's farm, in Hamilton Co., Ohio, March 17, 1825, where he lived five years, when, with his parents, he came to Illinois, and settled at the west end of Randolph's Grove; this was in May 16, 1830: he lived with his parents until June 1, 1848, when he married Miss Rebecca Yocom, of Kentucky. After his marriage, he began business on his own account, working part of his father's farm, his wife remaining at her home in Sangamon Co., which place he also made his home. In the spring of 1849, he settled on eighty acres that he and his brother had bought previously, and on which he lived until 1867, when he came to his present place, and has lived here since. He is no office-seeker, and has held no office except connected with the schools. By his marriage he has had seven children, six living-Emily J,, Stephen H., William F., Enoch D., James C. and John L.; Mary C. died
JOHN R. PETERS, of the firm of Slagel & Peters, blacksmiths, etc., Heyworth : was born on his father's farm, in Shenandoah Co., Va., Aug. 8, 1845, where he lived one year; he then, with his parents, moved to Hardy Co., Va., where he lived until 1861, when, with his mother and family, he came West to Illinois, and settled in McLean Co., at Lexington, where, at the age of 16, he was apprenticed to the trade of a blacksmith, according to State statute. After learning his trade, he took a trip East, visiting his native county in Virginia, after which he returned to Lexington and worked at his trade. In 1866, he went to Martin Township, in this county, and engaged in the blacksmithing business on his own account. In 1868, he sold his business and came to Heyworth and worked for Mr. Slagel, with whom, in the summer of 1871, he formed a partnership, an account of which will be seen elsewhere. Aug. 23, 1870, he married Miss Mattie E., daughter of Mr. J. Slagel ; she was born in Pendleton Co., Va. ; they have one child-Hurbet J.
WILLIAM QUINTON, farmer and stock-raiser ; P. 0. Heyworth ; was born in Kilkenny Co., Ireland, March 21, 1811, where he lived until he was about 33 years of age ; he then went to Australia and, in 1819, came to the United States, settling in California, and, in 1850, he came to Illinois, settling on his present place, and has lived here since. In December, 1856, he mare ried Miss Mary Ann Mooney ; she was born in Wexford Co., Ireland, in December, 1833 ; they had seven children, five of whom are living-Mary Jane, Elizabeth, John H., Sophia and William. He owns 320 acres in this and DeWitt Co., which he has earned by his own labor and management. His farm is located four miles south west of Heyworth, and is well adapted to stock-raising. While in Australia he cared for sheep and followed farming, and when the Cali. fornia excitement began, he left Australia for same and followed mining, and met with fair success, but, owing to sickness, had to leave.
HENRY RALEY, farmer and stock-raiser; P. O. Bloomington; was born in Bedford Co., Penn., Jan. 20, 1845; his parents moved to Clay Co., Ind., when he was but 6 months old, and lived there until 1855, when in the fall of that year they came to Illinois and settled in Bloomington Township, this county, and lived there three years ; they then moved to Old Town Town. ship, and he lived there until 1866. On Dec. 20, of that year, he married Miss Lizzie S. Weish; they have four children, viz., William A., Eugene E., Henry L. and Charles E. After his marriage, he came to this township and lived here one year; he then moved to Hudsou Township, living there six years, and then came to his present place; in 1864, he enlisted in the 155th Reg. I. v. I., and remained in the service one year; he owns 206 acres in this county; it is located seven miles southeast of Bloomington, and four miles west of Downs, and is well adapted to stock-raising.
DR. A. F. ROGERS, grocer, Heyworth ; is a native of Leicester, Worcester Co., Mass., and was born Oct, 11, 1812; he lived in his native town about three years, when, with his parents, he moved to Bernardston Mass., thence to Swansea, N. H., where he lived until he was 6 years of age; he then came West to Illinois, and settled at Waterloo, Monroe Co., where he was principally engaged in farming until 1835, when he joined the Methodist Conference, and remained in active service until 1858. He attended the first conference held in this county in Bloomington, about 1812; in 1844 and 1845, he was on the Bloomington Grove Circuit, during which time he held a revival in Bloomington, some forty to fifty being converted. In 1858, he engaged in the drug business in Leroy, and in 1865 he came to Heyworth, moving his drug business here, which he continued until 1870, his store being the first in the place; he then engaged in preaching until 1877; in the spring of 1879, he engaged in his present business. In the fall of 18:37 he married Miss Ann Eliza Warnock, daughter of Judge Warnock, of St. Louis, Mo.; she died in 1812 ; they had four children-two living, viz., Dr. L. H. and Mrs. Ann E Howard. In 1845, he married Miss Julia A. Gibbs, of Leroy; they had eight children-five living, viz., Mrs. Lucretia Whiting, Mrs. Ellen Stretch, Flora, Austin W. and Orvill.
0. C. RUTLEDGE, of the firm of I. Vanordstrand & Co., grain, lumber etc., Heyworth ; was born in McLean Co., II., on his father's farm, located in the present township of Randolph, Oct. 19, 1831, where he lived until the age of 27; in the summer of 1855, he bought grain in lieyworth for Mr. E. Birney, of Le Roy, this county, and thus did the first business iransacted at Heyworth ; at first the business was very small-all the grain was handled by hand, and weighed on small platform scales. In the fall a small warehouse was built, in which to handle and store the grain. In the spring of 1856, Mr. Birney quit the business at this point, and the firm of Elder & Rutledge was formed, doing business until April 1, 1858, when they consolidated with Mr. I. Vanordstrand, and did business as I. Vanordstrand & Co.; during the following summer, Mr. Rutledge withdrew from the firm; and on being married, he moved to Downs Township, engaging in farming; he remained there two years, when he returned to Heyworth and engaged in the general merchandise business with Mr. J. C. McFarland—the firm being McFarland & Rutledge; they continued in the business until 1865; during three years of this time Mr. McFarland was in the army, and Mr. Rutledge had the entire management; he then sold out his interest, and bought an interest in the business of I. Vanordstrand & Co., and has continued a member of that firm since; in 1872, Mr. Elder withdrew from the firm. Mr. Rutledge is the oldest living native resident of this township. In 1862 he was Assessor, and received the appointment of Township Treasurer the same year; he has also held the offices of Township Clerk, Village Trustee, Corporation and School Treasurer. He married Miss Sarah 1. Elder June 8, 1858, who died in 1865; they had one child- Mary F. He married Miss Letitia A. Battershell, Dec. 24, 1866; they have two children living, viz., Lettie and Lyndon.
T. 0. RUTLEDGE, farmer and stock-rai-er; P. O. Heyworth ; is a native of Augusta, Ga.; he was born Sept. 17, 1806, and lived there six years; he then, with his parents, moved 10 Henderson Co., Ky., where he lived thirteen years. when he came to Illinois and settled in Sangamon Co., where he lived one year; in 1826, he settled on his present place and has lived here since. Jan. 1, 1829, he married Miss Cynthia Rutledge, of Kentucky; they were married in this township, and had twelve children-seven living: five in this county, one in Missouri and one in Kansas; he owns 343 acres in this county, having given all his children farms, all of which he has earned by his own labor and management. He came here in an old wagon, which, with a team of oxen, constituted his possessions at that time. He was in the service sixty days with Geu. Stillman, in the Black Hawk war, and was present at the General's defeat; after the expiration of the sixty days, he enlisted for thirty days to assist in building block houses in Chicago. His father died in Kentucky; his mother and eight children came here in the wagon. Being the oldest, the care of the farm and family principally fell to him. His mother died in 1836, near Le Roy, this county.
R. H. RUTLEDGE, farmer and stock-raiser; P. 0. Heyworth: is a native of Henderson Co., Ky.; he was born on his father's farm March 21, 1810, and iived there five years, when, with his parents, he came to Illinois and settled in White Co., where they engaged in farming: in 1824, ihey moved to Sangamon Co., thence to Logan Co., and in 1826, they came to Randolph Grove and settled near the present place. Aug. 20, 1830, Mr. Thomas Rutledge died; he was born in South Carolina, and married' Miss Sallie Smith, of Georgia ; they had twelve cildrenfour now living. Mr. R. 11. Rutledge being the eldest son at home, he took the management of the farm. In 1831, he improved a farm near Le Roy for his mother, his father baring sold the