Smoke on the Mountain: An Interpretation of the Ten Commandments

Westminster John Knox Press, 1954 M01 1 - 141 páginas

This celebrated book, a dynamic and original interpretation of the Ten Commandments, is enhanced by a thoughtful introduction by C. S. Lewis, the author's husband. Lewis writes, "the flaw in us which Joy Davidman seems to me to expose with most certainty will be to some perhaps an unexpected one: the sin of fear . . . quite simply, cowardice."


Comentarios de la gente - Escribir un comentario

LibraryThing Review

Crítica de los usuarios  - SueinCyprus - LibraryThing

Despite being over 50 years old, this speaks well to contemporary Christians, and anyone interested in the relevance of the Ten Commandments today. Davidman - who later married the better-known CS ... Leer comentario completo

Must read!

Crítica de los usuarios  - Lucy -

Smoke on the Mountain is a must have for your library! Joy Davidman explains concepts so clearly and easily. I benefited greatly from having read this book as she masterfully explains each of the 10 Commandments in a very realistic and memorable way. Leer comentario completo

Páginas seleccionadas


Introduction The Sin of Fear
God Comes First
Gods Made with Hands
The Word Was with God
Day of Rejoicing
The Serpents Tooth
Who Take the Sword
The Adulterous Generation
You Cant Cheat an Honest Man
Jesting Pilate
The Moth and the Rust
Light of Light
About the Author
Derechos de autor

Otras ediciones - Ver todas

Términos y frases comunes

Referencias a este libro

Acerca del autor (1954)

Joy Davidmanwas a poet, novelist, and religious writer. She was educated at Hunter College and Columbia University.

C. S. (Clive Staples) Lewis, "Jack" to his intimates, was born on November 29, 1898 in Belfast, Ireland. His mother died when he was 10 years old and his lawyer father allowed Lewis and his brother Warren extensive freedom. The pair were extremely close and they took full advantage of this freedom, learning on their own and frequently enjoying games of make-believe. These early activities led to Lewis's lifelong attraction to fantasy and mythology, often reflected in his writing. He enjoyed writing about, and reading, literature of the past, publishing such works as the award-winning The Allegory of Love (1936), about the period of history known as the Middle Ages. Although at one time Lewis considered himself an atheist, he soon became fascinated with religion. He is probably best known for his books for young adults, such as his Chronicles of Narnia series. This fantasy series, as well as such works as The Screwtape Letters (a collection of letters written by the devil), is typical of the author's interest in mixing religion and mythology, evident in both his fictional works and nonfiction articles. Lewis served with the Somerset Light Infantry in World War I; for nearly 30 years he served as Fellow and tutor of Magdalen College at Oxford University. Later, he became Professor of Medieval and Renaissance English at Cambridge University. C.S. Lewis married late in life, in 1957, and his wife, writer Joy Davidman, died of cancer in 1960. He remained at Cambridge until his death on November 22, 1963.

Información bibliográfica