Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

Veronica triphyllos. Trifid Speedwell; at Methwold, between the two windmills and the warren lodge ; in the gravel pits two miles beyond Barton-mills; on the ridge of a hill where a small cart-way crosses the road to Lyon and elsewhere in the grass thereabouts, also on the sandy fallow fields, half a mile to the east of Icklingham.

Veronica verna. Spring Veronica or Speedwell; in sandy corn-fields near Bury. This was first found indigenous in England by Sir John Cullum.

Urtica Pilulifera. Roman Nettle; about Aldborough and elsewhere on the coast, plentifully.

THE PRINCIPAL WORKS,

That have been Published in Illustration of the

Topography, Antiquities, &c. of

Suffolk.

BISHOP KENNET, in his Life of Somner, seems to hint

that Sir Simonds D’Ewas designed a survey of this county; what progress he made is not known, there being but few pieces on this subject among his collections in the Harleian Library. He mentions his collections for part of Suffolk in his Prolegomena on Domesday, MS. Harl. 623. Bishop Nicolson was disappointed in his search for them, we know not on what authority, among Dodsworth's, at Oxford. Sir Simonds is buried in Stow-Langtoit church.

Dr. Thomas Beckham's collections for this county, 1602, 4:0. were bought at Mr. Ives's sale by the Earl of Surrey; as were also those of Mr. Blomefield's, in two 4to. and two fol, volumes : Taxations and Inquisitions, four large folios, with indexes, very valuable: Abstracts of Patents, the places alphabetically ranged, folio. Another valuable folio of like abstracts of patents, licences of alien on, &c. with complete descriptions of persons and places. Inquisitiones Post Klortein, for Suffolk, t. c. i. collected by Edward Wenyeve; with an index of persons, folio; and a folio brought from Framlingham Castle, given by Martin to Le Neve, 1737, intitled, • Sir John Howard, Knt. first Duke of Norfolk, Account of his Stewarri of lands and Houses; wherein are many particulars of the prices of Latables, Drink, and other inatters, worth notice." In several pages is Sir John's own handwriting.

An Alphabetical List of the Arms and Crests of the Gentry of the county of Suffolk, as well ancient as modern ; collected from the best authors, and most autlientic nanuscripts, by the Rev. Joseph Brokenhau, rector of StokeAsiand Little Thornliam, in Suffolk, 1713, 4to. the largest collection for this county, perhaps, ever extant. It contains a list of 730 coats of arms. A true copy, 1765, with addenda, by Mr. Fenn. The original was in dir. Martin's library, .but disposed of in his life time.

This county was surveyed in 1702, and the two following years, by John Kirby, of Wickham, who published “The Suffolk Traveller; or, a Journey through Suffolk: in which is inserted the true distance in the roads from Ipswich to every market-town in Suffolk, and the same from Bury St. Edniund's. Likewise the distance in the roads from one village to another ; with notes of direction for travellers ; as what churches and gentlemens' seats are passed by, and on which side of the road, and the distance they are at from either of the said towns: with a short historical account of the antiquities of every market town, monasteries, castles, &c. that were in former times. Ipswich, 1735.' 12mo.

• The Woeful and Lamentable Wast and Spoile done by a suddaine Fire at St. Edmund's Bury, in Suifolk, on Monday the 10th of April, 1608.' 4to.

A fragment from an old register, relating to the election of Richard de Insulat, abbot of Burton, to be abbot of St. Edmund's, is in liearne's Annals ct Dunstable, p. 837.

Some account of a body, believed to be that of the Duke of Exeter, found in uncommon preservation, under the ruins of Bury Abbey ; with some reflections upon the subject; by Charles Collignon, M D. F. R. S. and professor of anatomy at Cambridge, make Art 33 of vol. Ixii. of the Philosophical Transactions.

In Archæologia, III. 311, are remarks on this abbey, with a correct plan and elevation of it, by Edward King, Esq.

Five Views of the Abhcy Gate have been published: one by W. Millicent, engraved by E. Kirkhall, with this inscription : · A View of ihe Gatehouse belonging to the Abbey, in S1. Edmund's Bury, in Suffolk. It being uncertain when this was built, I shall leave it to the more learned to yndge, whether before or after Edw. I. the wall, which enclused the Abbey, being built in his time.'

A second, by Messrs. Buck, 1738, dedicated to Sir Jermyn Davers, Bart. then proprietor of the abbey ruins. ibis view was engraved in the Universal Magazine, 1759, and thongh only a perspective one, is much the most accurate in che style and ornaments of the building, though it has not dune ihem the justice they deserve.

A third is prefixed to Dr. Batteley's book, but when taken is not expressed : it exhibits the two unmeaning towere fun merly placed on the gateway, but is, in other respects, inditferent enough. The Society of Antiquaries liave engraved a fragment of

M

the

the abbey-seal in the 8th plate of their second volume of prints.

Some account of Bury, and the procession of the Bull, with testimonies in notes, and a neat cut of the abbey seal may be seen in Corolla varia contexta per Guil "Haukinum scholarcham Hadleianum in agro Suffolciensi, Cantabr. ap Tho. Buck, 1634,' 12mo. a very scarce tract.

•Nomina quorundam e primariis olim regiæ grammaticaJis scholæ Buriæ Sti. Ednjundi, inter Icenos celeberrina carminibus illustrata (miscellaneis quibusdam adjectis) edita a Joan. Randall, A.M. coll. Christi Buriensis nuper schulæ magistro, nunc a sacris in agro Norfolciensi. Lond. 1719.' 8vo.

"Some Reasons why the practice of Inoculation onght not to be introduced into the town of Bury St. Edmund's, 1733,' 8vo. by D. Hartley.

* Bury and its Environs a poem. Lond. 1747.' by Dr. Winter, fol.

• Buria, a descriptive pnem.' Town and Country Mag. Jan. 1770.

A curious account of Bury fair may be met with in ' An Historical Account of Sturbridge, Bury, and the most cele. brated Fairs in Europe and Anerica. Printed at Cambridge about 1774.

• A Description of tlie ancient and present state of the Town and Abbey of Bury St. Edmund's, in the county of Suffolk. Chiefly collected from ancient authors, and MİSS. The 2d. edition, with corrections. Containing an account of the Monastery, from its foundation to its dissolution ; with a list of the Abhots, aud the several Benefactions to the Town. To which is likewise added, a list of the Post and Stage-Coaches to and from Bury, with the distance of the several towns to which they go. Bury, 1771.' 12mo. This edition was revised by the Rev. Sir Jolin Cullum.

E. Prospect of the Town, by Buck, 1741.

Angel Hill in St. Edmund's Bury; with the churches of St. Mary, and St. James, and the Abbey Gate ; also, a view of St Edmund's Hill, Rushbrook, and Hardwicke. J. Kendall, del. P.S. Lamborn, sc. 1774. 1 his plate was re-engraved in 1777, in a much neater and more accurate manner.

A new and accurate Plan of the ancient borough of St. Edmund's, in the county of Suffolk, by Alexander Downing,

[ocr errors]

1740, engraved by Tons, and adorned with views of the Cross and Abbey Gate.

Another survey, 1747, by Thomas Warren, in two sheets adorned with views of the s. front of the hospital, the So front of the market-cross, the E. front of the grammarschool; the S. E. side of St. James's church, part of the nbbot's pałace, 1720: S. W. view of St. Mary's church ; N. front of the Earl of Bristol's house: W. frout of the abbeygate: N. front of the grand jury-house. Mr. Warren lett drawings of several other antiquities here, which came into the hands of his widow; his son, a writing-master, and ingenious draughtsman in this town, being deprived of them by an unhappy dispute, relative to his father's will.

A history of Ipswich, from the Saxon times, down to the death of Charles I. in 800 folio pages, by Mr. Bacon, its recorder, town-clerk, and representative, under Cromwell, is likely to remain iu NIS. according to the character given of it, for inaccuracy, by the editors of Kirby's buok. All that has been published about this place is, An account of the gifts and legacies that have been given and bequeathed to charitable uses in the town of Ipswich ; with some account of the present state and management, and some proposals for the future regulation of them, Ipswich, 1747. 8vo. By Mr. Canning, minister of St. Laurence; and, • The principal charters, which have been granted to the corporation of Ipswich, in Suffolk; translated. Lond. 1754.'' 8vo.

By

the same.

• Poll for Ipswich, May 8, 1741 ; Edward Vernon, Samuel kent, and Knox Ward, Esqrs. candidates:' with a supplement, containing 'lists of treemen who did not vote at the said election ; of those who were admitted, May 11, 1741, and of some freeinen who voted at the said election, and liave places in the corporation, or under the government; with remarks, by a Freeman.'

• Hydro-sidereon; or, a treatise of ferruginous waters, especially the Ipswich spa ; being an excellent spring of that nature there, lately discovered ; with the vast differences of suci mineral waters, their proper medicinal uses in various diseases, grounded on several curious experiments, and nice observations ; never before made known : with a plain demonstration also the great vanity and folty in buying, and cheat in selling (ierman spa-water in England. Lond. 1717. Svo. By W.C. of the College of Physicians, London, M. D. • The borough or corporation of Ipswich, in the county of

Suffolk,

[ocr errors]
« AnteriorContinuar »