Imágenes de páginas
[merged small][graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors]

Nos. 24. Study Hall.

25. Professor of Mathematics.
26. Class Room for Tutor of Moral Philosophy.
27. Study Hall.
28. Class Room for Tutor of Rhetorio.
29 and 31. Study Hall.
30. Class Room for Tutor of Rhetorio.
32. Professor of English Literature.

[ocr errors]
[blocks in formation]
[ocr errors]


[graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][subsumed]

PLANS OF THE NEW YORK NORMAL COLLEGE. The building designed for the accommodation of the Normal College of the City of New York, was begun in 1871, after drawings and specifications prepared in the office of Superintendent of Buildings and Repairs of the Department of Public Instruction.

The site of the City Normal College is bounded by Fourth Avenue, Lexington avenue, Sixty-eighth and Sixty-ninth streets, being an entire block, the dimensions of which are as follows: two hundred feet and ten inches on each avenue, and four hundred and five feet on each street, and contains over eightyone thousand square feet of surface, a little more than thirty-two full-sized city lots. The area covered by the building is 26,000 square feet.

The style of the exterior of the buildings is plain Gothic, having octagonal turrets and buttresses at the corners and at certain projecting portions, those at the corners of the main tower terminating in pinnacles and finials.

The outside walls are all faced with Philadelphia pressed front bricks, laid in black mortar; the water-tables and trimmings of first story are of Quincy granite; the "trimmings" above first story, of Dorchester stonc; the roofs, of tin; rain-water leaders, of copper; sewer and drain pipes, of cast iron; Croton water for drinking and culinary purposes are conducted through tinned lead pipes; the main stairs are of walnut; two double sets in class-room building are of Georgia pine; and one double set in observatory tower, of Dorchester stone; all floors are of Georgia pine; inside trimmings, doors, etc., of white pine, painted and grained.

The cellar walls are thirty-two inches thick, of stone; the walls of first story twenty-eight inches, of brick; above the first story, the walls are twentyfour inches thick.

The buildings are four stories in height above the cellar; the top of the balustrade being seventy-five feet; the top of observatory tower one hundred and twenty-six feet, and the top of the finials of main tower one hundred and forty-two feet above the street curb at the lowest corner.

The dimensions of the principal building (represented by the top of the letter T), measured at the line of the second-story floor, are as follows: one hundred and twenty-five feet front by seventy-eight feet deep, with a projection on the front of fifty-three by twelve feet for stairs, and an additional projection of twenty-five by eleven feet, forming a part of the principal tower; also a projection on each side, of two by forty feet; projections of buttresses, etc., are not included.

This building contains in the cellar, which is nine feet high, a janitor's kitchen, store-rooms, places for furnaces, fuel, etc.

In the first story, which is twelve and a half feet high, is the calisthenium, fifty-one by seventy-four feet. A library twenty-eight by forty feet; privato room, ten by fourteen feet; a store-room; and four rooms for the janitor.

A main hall, fifteen feet wide, extends the entire length of both buildings, which, from out to out of towers, is two hundred and ninety-five feet.

In the second story, which is fourteen feet high, is a suite of rooms for the Commissioners' and President's use, thirteen by fifty-one feet; private room, eighit by twelve feet; store-room for College supplies, thirteen by fifty-three feet; and three lecture-rooms, each thirty-six by fifty-one feet; main hall, etc.

[ocr errors]

In the third story, which will average thirty-three feet in height, is the as. sembly hall, seventy-four by one hundred and twenty fvet, with a gallery on all sides; the gallery connects with the fourth story of the class-room building, the assembly ball including in its height both the third and fourth stories. The hall, including galleries, will comfortably seat two thousand persons; and will be used daily for the opening exercises of the College.

The extension or class-room building, represented by the upright portion of the letter T, is of the following dimensions, measured at the line of the secondstory floor, and exclusive of turrets and buttresses: eighty feet wide by one hundred and seventy-seven and a half feet long; with a projection on each side of two by sixty feet, and on the rear of twelve and a half by nineteen feet, this last forming a part of the observatory tower, which, as seen above the roof, measures nineteen feet each way, and is surmounted by a revolving dome for astronomical purposes; the axis of the instrument being one hundred and sixteen feet above the street pavement. This building has a cellar nine feet in height, for fuel, furuaces, etc., and extends under the entire building.

In the first story, which is ten and a quarter feet high, are two lavatories, thirteen by twenty-nine feet, with sixteen basins; two rooms, named sechoir, twenty-eight by thirty feet, to be furnished with extra lieating apparatus, so that wet clothing and umbrellas may be quickly and thoroughly dried, avoiding the necessity of carrying them to the class-rooms while wet. Two private rooms, tweuty-eight by thirty feet, with thirty-six separate closets. Room for promenading, equal to seventy-five by one hundred feet.

Two stairways, fourteen feet wide, at the joining of the two buildings, containing two sets of double stairs, of Georgia pine. One set of double stairs, in observatory tower, of stone, extending from the cellar to dome.

The second, third, and fourth stories, which are each fourteen and a quarter feet high, contain, in each story, ten class-rooms, averaging twenty-eight by thirty feet, and two private rooms, each thirteen and a half hy twenty-four feet, with wardrobes, closets, and basin in each ;-in all thirty class-rooms, six private or retiring-rooms, and a hall fifteen feet wide, the entire length of the building, in each story.

For ventilating purposes, all the division walls between class-rooms are built with hollow spaces, which may be used as flues to any desired extent; in addition to which there will be nine largo ventilators (so called), placed at the ridges of the roofs. The turrets and buttresses are also formed. so as to aid in permitting the ingress or egress of air.

The drawings and specifications for the buildings were prepared in the office of the Superintendent of Buildings and Repairs, from designs by Mr. D. J. Stagg, of the Department of Public Instruction, where all similar work has been done for all new schools, and all alterations of schools, since 1857.

The estimated cost, as reported to the Committee at the time of the adoption of the plans, in April, 1871, for completing the buildings, was $350,000.

The appropriation for the erection of the buildings, made on the 14th of June, 1871, amounting to $278,667, includes the Mason's work, Granite, Dorchester stone, and Carpenter's work. The entire cost of building, including site and equipments, up to December, 1873, exceeds $400,000.

[ocr errors]
« AnteriorContinuar »