Imágenes de páginas





Eighty-Second General Assembly

of the State of Ohio





Bound at the State Bindery.

[ocr errors][ocr errors]


Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio.

Monday, January 1, 1917. This being the day fixed by law for the meeting of the General Assembly in regular session, the Senators-elect of the Eighty-second General Assembly of the state of Ohio met in the Senate Chamber at 10 o'clock a. m. and were called to order by Lieutenant Governor John H. Arnold, President of the Senate.

The President appointed Senator-elect Lewis F. White Clerk pro tempore, and directed the Clerk to call the senatorial districts in their numerical order, when the following named persons presented certificates of election as Senators from their respective districts to the Eightysecond General Assembly of the state of Ohio, and having taken an oath administered by Hon. R. M. Wanamaker to support the constitution of the United States, the constitution of the state of Ohio, and also an oath of office, entered upon the discharge of their duties as Senators:

First District — Composed of Hamilton county: Charles F. Harding, Robert J. O'Brien, Walter M. Shohl.

Second and Fourth Districts — Composed of Butler, Warren, Brown and Clermont counties: John E. Holden.

Third District -- Composed of Montgomery and Preble counties : Hugh R. Gilmore.

Fifth and Sixth Districts -- Composed of Fayette, Greene, Clinton, Highland and Ross counties: U. G. Murrell.

Seventh District -- Composed of Adams, Jackson, Scioto and Pike counties -- W. D. Tremper.

Eighth District — Composed of Gallia, Lawrence, Meigs and Vinton counties : Otto E. Vollenweider.

Ninth and Fourteenth Districts — Composed of Athens, Hocking and Fairfield counties, and Washington, Morgan, Monroe, part of Rinard's Mills precinct, in Washington township and part of Bethel and Benton townships; Noble county, part of Brookfield, Jackson, Noble, Sharon and Olive townships, and part of Elk, Jefferson and Center townships, Forest Grove and Caldwell precincts and part of Dexter precinct : George S. Cunningham.

Tenth District -- Composed of Franklin and Pickaway counties: Erastus G. Lloyd, George D. Jones.

Eleventh District - Composed of Champaign, Clark and Madison counties: T. A. Busbey.

Twelfth District - Composed of Darke, Miami and Shelby counties : I. M. Apple.

Thirteenth and Twenty-first Districts - Composed of Hardin, Logan, Marion, Union, Crawford, Seneca and Wyandot counties: B. E. Baker, Frank Miller.


Fifteenth and Sixteenth Districts -- Composed of Muskingum, Perry, Delaware and Licking counties: J. Henry Miller.

Seventeenth and Twenty-eighth Districts - Composed of Morrow, Knox, Holmes, and Wayne counties: Willis Horn.

Eighteenth and Nineteenth Districts — Composed of Coshocton and Tuscarawas counties, and Guernsey, Monroe, all of - except part of Benton and Bethel townships, and Rinard's Mills precinct; Noble county, part of Beaver, Buffalo, Enoch, Marion, Seneca, Stock and Wayne townships, and part of Center, Elk and Jefferson townships, East Union and part of Dexter precinct: George S. Crawford.

Twentieth and Twenty-second Districts — Composed of Belmont, Harrison, Jefferson and Columbiana counties: A. A. Galbreath, C. A. White.

Twenty-first District -- Composed of Carroll and Stark counties: Adam W. Oberlin.

Twenty-third District — Composed of Trumbull and Mahoning counties : Henry W. Davis.

Twenty-fourth and Twenty-sixth Districts -- Composed of Ashtabula, Lake, Geauga, Portage and Summit counties: H. H. Timby, T. J. Palmer.

Twenty-fifth District - Composed of Cuyahoga county: William Agnew, James S. Kennedy, Charles A. Mooney, Virgil J. Terrell, Howell Wright.

Twenty-seventh and Twenty-ninth Districts - Composed of Medina, Lorain, Ashland and Richland counties: W. B. Brown.

Thirtieth District - Composed of Erie, Huron, Ottawa and Sandusky counties: Lewis F. White.

Thirty-second District — Composed of Allen, Auglaize, Defiance, Mercer, Paulding. Van Wert and Williams counties: T. M. Berry, George W. Holl.

Thirty-third District - Composed of Hancock, Wood, Fulton, Henry and Putnam counties: Frank W. Thomas.

Thirty-fourth District :--- Composed of Lucas county: Clarence A. Benedict, George J. Snyder.

Prayer was offered by Rev. W. A. Perrins, of Columbus.

Mr. White, of Sandusky, offered the following resolution which was adopted :

S. R. No. 1.

Resolved. That until otherwise ordered, the rules of the Senate of the Eighty-first General Assembly be adopted for the government of the Senate of the Eighty-second General Assembly.

A quorum of the senators-elect having qualified, the President announced the first business in order to be the election of the following officers :

A president pro tempore, a clerk, a journal clerk, a message clerk, an engrossing clerk, an enrolling clerk and a recording clerk; a sergeantat-arms, a first assistant sergeant-at-arms, and a second assistant sergeantat-arms.

The election of a president pro tempore being first in order, Mr. White, of Sandusky, nominated for said office J. H. Miller of Licking county.

Mr. Harding nominated for said office Otto E. Vollenweider, of Vinton county.

« AnteriorContinuar »