Imágenes de páginas
[merged small][merged small][ocr errors]
[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small]

Printed by virtue of an Act of the Legislature, under the direction and supervision of

[merged small][merged small][graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][merged small]




Lansing, Wednesday, January 6, 1876. Pursuant to the requirements of the Constitution, the members elect to the House of Representatives of the Legislature of the State of Michigan, for the year 1875, assembled in the Representative Hall of the Capitol at Lansing, on Wednesday, the sixth day of January, at 11 o'clock, and were called to order by Daniel L. Crossman, Clerk of the last House.

Prayer was offered by Rev. Mr. Crosby, of Lansing.

Upon examining the credentials of members it was ascertained that the several counties were fully represented except the following:

Philo H. Budlong, first district of Calhoun county; John Struble, first district of Cass county; Edwin J. Hulbert, of Houghton county; and Isaac Green, of Sanilac county.

On motion of Mr. Hoyt,
Hon. E. C. Watkiss of Kent county was chosen temporary Speaker.
On motion of Mr. Copley,

The temporary Speaker was authorized to appoint a Sergeant-at-Arms temporarily.

The temporary Speaker appointed E. M. Fitch of Allegan county as Sergeant-at-Arms temporarily.

Mr. Parker moved that a committee of two be appointed to wait on Lieutenant Governor Holt, and invite him to administer the oath of office to the several members elect.

Which motion prevailed.

The temporary Speaker appointed Mr. Parker of Genesee, and Mr. Howard of St. Clair, as such committee.

After a short absence, the committee reported Lieutenant Governor Holt in attendance.

The roll of the members was then called by counties and districts, when the following members answered to their names, and, having taken and subscribed to the oath of office, were admitted to seats as Representatives in the Legislatare of the State of Michigan :

Allegan- 1st District, James Eggleston; 2d District, William F. Harden; 3d District, David W. Wiley.

Alpena-Worthy L. Churchill.
Barry-1st District, Henry A. Goodyear; 2d District, Amos C. Towne.
Bay-Andrew Walton.

Berrien 1st District, Thomas J. West; 2d District, Calvin B. Potter; 3d District, Ethan A. Brown.

« AnteriorContinuar »