Pieces of Shadow: Selected Poems

Fondo de Cultura Económica, Fundación para las Letras Mexicanas, 2007 - 131 páginas
Pieces of Shadow gathers a selection of poetry by twentieth century Mexican writer Jaime Sabines, one of the most important figures in Spanish-American literature. This book assembles poems from his most recognized books, such as Horal (1950), Tarumba (1956), Yuria (1967) or Other Collected Poems (1950-1995), titles which earned Sabines many devoted readers and enthusiastic critics. The anthology has been translated into English by American poet W.S. Merwin. In Merwins words, what captured him of Sabines poetry was the jarring authenticity of passion in [the] tone, a great cracked bell note of craving and frustration, irony and anger, outrage and black humor all jangled at once, unabashed, unsweetened, unappeased, and all of it essential to the rest. These same features still remain in Sabines poetry for the new readers who will immerse in the literary work of a classic of modern Mexican literature.

Comentarios de la gente - Escribir un comentario

No encontramos ningún comentario en los lugares habituales.

Acerca del autor (2007)

W. S. Merwin was born William Stanley Merwin in New York City on September 30, 1927. He received a bachelor's degree from Princeton University in 1948 and did some graduate work there in Romance languages. He worked as a tutor and translator while writing poetry. In 1952, his first collection of poetry, A Mask for Janus, was awarded the Yale Younger Poets Prize. He wrote numerous collections of poetry including Green with Beasts, The Moving Target, The Lice, The Compass Flower, The Rain in the Trees, The River Sound, The Moon Before Morning, and Garden Time. He won the Pulitzer Prize in 1971 for The Carrier of Ladders and in 2009 for The Shadow of Sirius, the National Book Award in 2005 for Migration: New and Selected Poems, and the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize for The Vixen. He also published essays, short fiction, memoirs, and translations of Dante, Pablo Neruda, and Osip Mandelstam. Merwin's other works included Unframed Originals, The Lost Upland, The Ends of the Earth, and Summer Doorways. He also received the Bollingen Prize, the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, the PEN Translation Prize, the Shelley Memorial Award, the Tanning Prize and the Lila Wallace-Reader's Digest Writers' Award. He died on March 15, 2019 at the age of 91.

Información bibliográfica