Imágenes de páginas

fen, had a dau., m. to L. T. Clark of Philadelphia. 7. Samuel Holden, b. Dec. 31, 1777, m. Esther, dau, of Giles Page of Middletown, d. in the West Indies, leaving a da., Mary Ann, m. to William C. Hammet of Howland, Me. 8. Margaret Ann. 9. Margaret, b. 1785, m. 1. Stephen Hubbard of Middletown, who settled at Champion, N. Y., where he d. 1812. 2. Alfred Lathrop

of Champion and W. Carthage, N. Y. (37) IV. Thomas,' b. April 28, 1739, m. 1. Mary Gibson, and had one

son, Jonathan G., who d. without issue. He m. 2. Sarah Sawyer of Newbury, and had, 1. Sarah, m. to Gorhamn Parsons, late a merchant of Boston, whose father was brother to the late Judge Theophilus Parsons of Boston, descended from that branch of the family settled at Gloucester, Ms., the ancestor of which was Jeffrey Parsons, whose pedigree we propose to trace hereafter; 2. Ann, m. Fitz. William Sargent of Gloucester, Ms.; 3. Mary," m. Ignatius Sargent; 4. -m. Samuel Torrey

of Boston. (38) V.

Phebe,“ b. at Newburyport, March 6, 1748, m. Capt. Eben

ezer Lane of Boston, had no children, d. 1781. (39) VI.

Lucia,“ b. at Newburyport, Dec. 23, 1752, m. Capt. Joseph

Tappan of that place, d. there in 1815, a. 63, leaving 7 children; 1. Thomas P.5 ; 2. Phebe Griswolds; 3. Sarah"; 4. John Pike'; 5. Richard'; 6. Joseph"; and 7. Thomas

Parsons." (40) VII. Lydia,' b. April 3, 1755, m. Moses, son of Hon. Jonathan

Greenleaf of Newburyport, Sept. 17, 1776, and had chil. dren, 1. Moses," 2. Clarina Parsons, 3. Ebenezer, 4. Si. mon, b. Dec. 5, 1783, the distinguished attorney and professor of law in II. C., 5. Jonathan, a clergyman of Brooklyn, N. Y., and author of a memoir of Rev. Jonathan Parsons in the American Quarterly Register, also of Ecclesiastical Sketches of Maine.

Hugh Parsons appears on the town records of Springfield, 27. 8, (27 Oct.) 1645. How long before that he was resident there does not appear, thongh it is quite probable he was among the first inhabitants. Whether Hugu were a brother of Benjamin and Joseph, or what relationship he may have borne to them, nothing has yet come to our knowledge to enable us to determine; yet he was probably the older brother of those, and so we shall consider hin until we are otherwise assured. Mr. Parsons married Mary Lewis on the date above mentioned, by whom he had,

I. SAMUEL, b. Oct. 4, 1618, d. Oct. 4, 1649.

II. Joshua, b. Oct. 26, 1650, d. June 4, 1651. Abort this point of time began the troubles and trials of this devoted family, and here, on the Springfield town records stands the following

sad entry:

Joshua Parsons, son of Hugh was killed by Mary Parsons his wife, 4. 1. 1651."

Singular as it may now seem, and notwithstanding the above entry, fair and legible at this day upon the records, an attempt was soon after made to throw the cause of ihe death of the son upon the father, and

that he had effected it by witchcraft! We will not now enlarge on this subject, as we propose io publish at some future time an article on witchcraft in our country, and its unhappy effects.

P. S. We originally intended to have given in this number the genealogy of the branch of the family of Parsons settled at Gloucester, but for want of room, and some maierials, are obliged to defer it to a future one; ineanwhile we hope the descendants of Jeffrey PARSONS, (the progenitor of this branch.) will forward us all the facts they possess concerning it, that it may be rendered as complete as possible. For the information of those concerned, it may be proper to state, that we have a copy of the pedigree which was in the possession of the late William Parsons, Esq., of Boston, which, thongh extensive as it respects the names of the descendants, is very defective in dates and names of places. In these particulars we especially want information.



It is said that this Bible was brought from England to America by the Pilgrim Fathers, who landed from the ship Mayflower, at Plymouth, Ms., December 22, A. D. 1620.

The title-page of the Testament* part of this Bible is in the following words, viz.




Confered diligently with the Greeke and best approved

translations, in divers Languages.

Imprinted at London by the Deputies of Christopher Barker, Printer

to the Queens most excellent Majesty.

A. D. 1592.

Cum gratia privilegio Regia Maiestatis.

* All the fly-leaves are gone from the beginning of the Old Testament, as well as the titlepage.

Family Record in the Bible.

We Elisha Bradford and Bathshua Le-brocke, were married, September, ye 7th, Anno Domini 1718. (?) Account of the births, of all our children. Our Daughter Ilannah, was born April ye 10th

1719 Joseph was born December ye 7th day

1721 Silvanus was born July ye 6th day

1723 Nehemiah was born July y 27th day

1724 Laurana was born March ye 26th day

1726 Mary was born August yo 1st day

1727 Elisha was born October ye 6th day

1729 Lois was born January ye 30th day

1730-31 Deborah* was born November y® 18th day

1732 Allis was born November ye 3d day

1734 Azenath was born September ye 15th day

1736 Carpenter was born February ye 7th day

1738-9 Abigail was born June yo 20th day

1741 Chloe was born sixth day of April

1743 Content was born twenty-first day of May

1745 Content decMay 22

1745 Silvanus deod the twelfth day of July

1723 The foregoing title-page and Family Register were transcribed for and at the request of Alden Bradford, Esq., Feb. 22, 1842,

By his humble servant,




[For the account of the following medical gentlemen we are indebted to Dr. Samuel Pray.)

Dr. James Jackson was the first physician who settled in Rochester. He went from Connecticut, but in what year he went and how long he lived in the town, is not known.

Dr. James How was the son of Deacon How of Methuen, and brother of David How, Esq., of Haverhill, Ms. He went to Rochester about the year 1777, and practised in his profession till near the time of his death, in 1807. He was a Representative to the State Legislature several years, and was elected a member of the N. HI. Medical Socie. ty in 1791, soon after the Charter was granted. He was also surgeon's mate in the army of the Revolution. He died at the age of 53.

Dr. Samuel Pray was born at South Berwick, Me., July 3, 1769. He received his preparatory education at Dummer Academy, New. bury, Ms., in the years 1784, '85, and '86, studied medicine with Dr. Jacob Kittredge of Dover, three years, and commenced the practice of

* This Deborah was the mother of the American Heroine, Deborah Simpson, who, under the name of Robert Shirtlieff, served about two years as soldier in the army of the Revolution, in Capt. Webh's Company, Col. Jackson's Regiment, and General Patterson's Brigade, and after an honorable discharge from the Continental army, returned home to her mother at Plimpton in the Old Colony; assumed her female habiliments, and was married to Benjamin Gannet of Sharon, Ms., in 1784, where she died about ten years ago, and where three of her children reside at the present day.

his profession in September, 1792, at Rochester, where he has resided about fifty-five years. He united with a number of physicians in the old County of Strafford in 1811, who constituted the Strafford District of the N. H. Medical Society, of which he was Secretary several years. He was elected a Fellow of the N. H. M. Society in 1816, and has been one of the Censors for Strafford District. Dec. 14, 1821, he was elected an Honorary Member of the Medical Society at Dartmouth College.

Dr. Timothy F. Preston went to Rochester in the year 1807, and resided in town about a year, and then returned to New Ipswich, his native place.

Dr. John Perkins went to Rochester in 1807, and resided there till 1815, when he moved with his family to Jaffrey. It is not known where he received his education.

Dr. Asa Perkins went from Dover, his native place, to Rochester, in 1816, and resided there two years, and then returned to Dover, where he now resides. He is the son of William Perkins, who was a merchant in Dover, and who died several years since. The Doctor studied medicine with Dr. Jabez Dow of Dover. He was born April 5, 1793. Having abandoned his profession, he entered into mercantile business.

Dr. James Farrington went to Rochester in August, 1818, and has resided in town, to this time (1847). He was born at Conway, October, 1791, and is the third son, now living, of Jeremiah Farrington, late of Conway, who emigrated when a young man from Concord, N. H., and with several others formed a settlement upon the banks of the Saco river, in that section of the country then called by the Indians Pequawket, now Conway and Fryeburg; and grandson of Stephen Farrington, who was one of the first settlers of Concord, and whose wife was a sister of Jonathan and Samuel Bradley, who, with Obadiah Peters, John Bean, and John Lufkin, were massacred by the Indians, Aug. 11, 1746, between Concord and Hopkinton, and to whose memo. ry a granite monument has been erected on the spot where the mas. sacre was perpetrated, by their surviving relatives. He received an academic education at Fryeburg Academy, where in 1814 he was prepared to enter college. He commenced the study of medicine under the tuition of Dr. Moses Chandler of Fryeburg, Me., February, 1815, and concluded his term of study under the instruction of Dr. Jabez Dow of Dover, in February, 1818. He was examined in the science of medicine and surgery by the Censors of the N. H. Medical Society, Drs. Crosby and Pray, July 18, 1818, and commenced practice in Rochester on the 9th of August following. He is a Fellow of the N. H. Medical Society, and has been Censor and a Counsellor of the Society, and for several years President of the Strafford District Society. He has been a Representative and Senator in the State Legislature, and in 1837 was elected a member of the 25th Congress of the United States. In 1845 he was appointed by the Executive of the State one of the Trustees of the N. H. Asylum for the Insane.

Dr. Farrington was married, in 1827, to Mary D., eldest daughter of Mr. Joseph Hanson of Rochester, and has four children living; three sons and one daughter. Formerly he had students in medicine, among whom were Dr. Joseph H. Smith, now a successful practitioner in Dover, Dr. Timothy Upham, an eminent physician, late of Waterford, N. Y., and a son of the Hon. Nathaniel Upham, late of Rochester, also Dr. Alfred Upham, now a physician in the city of New York.

Dr. Farrington has had an extensive business in his profession for twenty-five years, and has performed many difficult surgical operations.

Dr. Calvin Cutter, Dr. Theodore Wells, and a Dr. Turner from Massachusetts, went to Rochester and tarried a short time in 1832 and 1833, and then returned to their native towns.

Dr. Rufus K. Pearl was born at Farmington, Feb. 6, 1815, attended Medical Lectures at Bowdoin and Dartmouth Colleges, and studied medicine with Dr. Wight of Gilmanton. He commenced practice in Rochester in 1810, and being out of health, he left the profession, and has gone into trade in the village of that place.

Dr. John W. Pray is the son of Dr. Samuel Pray of Rochester, with whom he studied medicine. He was born in Rochester, August, 1814, attended Medical Lectures at Dartmouth College, commenced the practice of his profession in Barrington, in 1840, and continued at that place three years, when he returned to Rochester and went into practice with his father.

Dr. Richard Russel moved from Great Falls village to Rochester, about the year 1811, and resided in town about three years, and then returned to Great Falls, in 1844. It is not known when he began the practice of his profession, nor what was his education.

Dr. Jeremiah Garland was born at Strafford, Sept. 23, 1815, and commenced the practice of his profession at Rochester, in 1844. Ile attended Medical Lectures at New York, in the old medical and surgical institution, and obtained the degree of M. D. at that institution. He studied medicine with Drs. Chadbourne and Haynes of Concord.



HON. NATHAN WESTON OF AUGUSTA, ME. John Weston, from whom the subject of this memoir is the fourth in desceni, came from Buckinghamshire in England to this country, in 1614, at the age of 13. After residing a few years in Salein, he purchased a tract of land in what is now South Reading, Ms., to which he removed, and where he spent the residue of his days. He died in 1723; being more than 90 years of age. It is noied on bis gravestone, that he was one of the founders of the church in Reading. A part of his estate remained in the hands of his posterity for over one hundred years. Stephen, his son, was a pious, industrious, and respectable man. He had a farm in Reading, where he died in 1753, at the age of 88.

Stephen, his son, became the owner of a farm in Wilmington, Ms. He was a leading man there, distinguished for his piety, and was for many years Deacon of the church in that town, where he died in 1776, in his Sist year. Nathan, his fifth son, was born at Wilmington, in 1740. He married Elisabeth, the mother of the subject of this Memoir. She was the daughter of Samuel Bancroft, Esq., of Reading, who represented that town for many years in the General Court, and sister of the late Rev. Dr. Bancroft of Worcester. He (Nathan) removed to that part of Ilallowell which is now Angusta, in Maine, then a part of Massachusetts, in 1781. He was for several years in the State government of Massachusetts,

« AnteriorContinuar »