« AnteriorContinuar »
N. H. Mrs. Stearns died in November, 1766. In September, 1767, he married Sarah Ruggles, daughter of Rev. Samuel Ruggles of Billerica, who was a grandson of Rev. John Woodbridge of Andover, and great-grandson of Gov. Thomas Dudley. By the second marriage, also, Mr. Stearns had three sons and three daughters.
Rev. Samuel Stearns, son of Rev. Josiah Stearns, by his second marriage, was born in Epping, April 8, 1770 ; graduated at H. C. 1794; studied theology with Rev. Jonathan French of Andover; and was ordained in Bedford, Ms., April 27, 1795, where he died, Dec. 26, 1834, aged 65. He married Abigail, daughter of Rev. Mr. French' of Andover. She was a descendant from John Alden, one of the first Pilgrims, who is said by some to have been the first person, who leaped spon the rock ́at Plymouth, New England, in 1620. Rev. Mr. Stearns of Bedford lived to see three of his sons settled in the ministry. Rev. Samuel Horatio Stearns, ordained over the Old South Church in Boston, MIs., April 16, 1834, died in Paris, France, July 15, 1837. His remains were brought to his native country, and rest in Mount Auburn Cemetery. Rev. William Augustus Stearns, ordained at Cambridgeport, Dec. 14, 1831, married Rebecca Alden Frazer of Duxbury. Rev. Jonathan French Stearns was ordained pastor of the first Presbyterian Church in Naiburyport, Sept. 16, 1835. He married first, Joanna Chaplin, daughter of Dr. James Prescott Chaplin of Cambridgeport. He married secondly, Anna S. Prentiss of Portland, Me. Sarah Caroline, a daughter of Rev. Mr. Stearns of Bedford, married Rev. Forest Jefferds, who was ordained at Epping, and afterwards installed at Middleion, Ms. Charlotte Esther, a daughter of Rev. Samuel Stearns, married Rev. Jonathan Leavitt. He was ordained at Bedford, and afterwards installed at Providence, R. I. Rev. Josiah Howe Stearns, son of Dea. William Stearns and grandson of Rev. Josiah Stearns of Epping, was ordained at Dennysville. Me., Nov. 6, 1844, and married Eliza Kilby, daughter of John Kilby, Esq., of that place. The mother of Rev. Josiah Howe Stearns, who was, before marriage, Abigail Richards Howe of Templeton, Ms., was a descendant of John Alden of Pilgrim memory,
Rev. Peter Holt, third pastor at Epping was son of Joshua Holt, Esq., whose brother, Rev. Nathan Holt, was pastor of the second Church in Danvers, lls. Rev. Peter Holt studied theology with Rev. Mr. French of Andover. He was installed over the Presbyterian church in Peterborough, March 7, 1827 ; resigned April, 1835; preached in Deering from 1835 to 1841. See notices of Mr. Holt by Rev. Mr. Whiton, in the N. H. Repository, Vol. I. No. 3. Rev. Mr. Holt of Epping married Hannah, daughter of Rev. Nathan Holt. They had seven children. Two survive, Sarah and Mary; the first of these married Samuel Endicott of Beverly. Nathan died at Epping, in his 12th year, of whom there is an obituary in the Piscataqua Evan. Mag. Vol. IV. p. 36. The family of Mr. Holt is traced to Nicholas Holt, who came from England to Newbury, in 1635, removed to Andover, and was one of the ten males who founded the church there in 1645. [Coffin's History of Newbury; Abbot's History of Andover; Farmer's Genealogical Register.)
Rev. Forest Jefferds, who succeeded Mr. Holt, was son of Samuel, who was the son of Samuel, who was the son of Rev. Samuel Jefferds of Wells, Me., whose father emigrated from England to Salem, Ms. Rev. Samuel Jeilerds was savored with a revival of religion in Wells, in 1741-2, and was one of the attestors by letter to “ the happy revival of religion in many parts of the land.” [Tracy's Hist. Great Awak., p. 295.] Rev. Forest Jefferds received his classical and theological education at the Theological Seminary, Bangor, graduated 1825, was installed at Middleton, Ms., May 2, 1832, resigned May 15, 1811. Mr. Jefferds married Sarah Caroline, daughter of Rev. Samuel Stearns of Bedford.
Rev. Calvin Chapman was next ordained in Epping. A new house of worship had been erected, which was dedicated in connection with the services of his ordination. He graduated at Andover Theological Seminary, 1842, married Lucy B. Emerson of Parsonsfield, Me. Mr. Chapman is now settled at Saca
Rev. Mr. Corser was a son of David Corser of Boscaven, who was a son of
tappa, Me. .
John, and grandson of John of Newbury, Ms., who emigrated to this country from Scotland, about the year 1690. John, with David his son, removed from Newbury to Boscawen, in the early settlement of the town, and purchased the whole of that tract of land, which, from their name, is called Corser's Hill
. Mr. Corser studied divinity with Rev. Dr. Harris of Dunbarton, and was ordained in Loudon, March 1817. He was dismissed from his charge Sept. 20, 1838. He preached as a supply at Northfield and Plymouth, till 1845. Since then he has supplied at Epping, where he now resides. His son, Samuel B. G. Corser, graduated at Dartmouth College, in 1841.
(To be continued.)
FOREIGN MISSIONARIES FROM NORWICH, CT.
The following supposed to be a correct list of the Missionaries that have gone out from Norwich. About twenty of them were natives, and the others were for a considerable period residents of the town, before entering upon the duties of the missionary. Two of them, it will be seen, belong to an earlier period than the organization of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions. One is attached to a Methodist Mission ; one is an Episcopal clergyman in the employ of the Colonization Society, and twenty-four have been in the service of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions. Year, Names.
Mission. 1761. Rev. Samson Occum, (Mohegan,)
Oneida. 1766. Rev. Samuel Kirkland, 1812. Rer. Samuel Nott, Jr.,
Mahratta. Mrs. Nott, (Roxana Peck,) 1819. Rev. Miron Winslow,
Ceylon. Mrs. Winslow, ( Harriet L. Lathrop,1 1820. Mrs. Palmer, (Clarissa Johnson,)
Cherokee. 1821. Rev. William Potter, 1825. Rev. William H. Manwaring, 1826. Mrs. Gleason, (Bethiah W. Tracy,)
Choctaw. 1827. Rev. Jonathan S. Green,
Sandwich Islands. Mrs. Gulick, (Fanny H. Thomas,) 1833. Mrs. Smith, (Sarah L. Huntington,)
Siam. 1835. Rev. James T. Dickinson,
Syria. 1836. Mrs. Cherry, (Charlotte H. Lathrop,)
Cyprus. 1839. Mrs. Sherman, (Martha E. Williams,)
Ceylon. 1810. Rev. Joshua Smith,
Africa. 1843. Miss Susan Tracy,
Choctaw. 1844. Miss Lucinda Downer,
Choctaw. History of Norwich.
" To send an uneducated child into the world,” says Paley, "is little better than to turn out a mad dog or a wild beast into the streets."
Mothers and schoolmasters plant the seeds of nearly all the good and evil which exist in our world. Its reformation must, therefore, be begun in nurseries, and schools. - Dr. Rush.
THE PASSENGERS OF THE MAY FLOWER IN 1620.
SHURTLEFF, M. D.
As Early as the year 1602, several religious people residing near the joining borders of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire, and Yorkshire, together with their pious ministers, being grievously oppressed by courts and canons, resolved to shake off the yoke of antichristian bondage, and, as the Lord's free people, to form themselves by cove. nant into a church-state, to walk in all his ways according to their best knowledge and endeavors, cost them whatever it might.
In the year 1606, by reason of the distance of their habitations, these people were obliged to assemble in two places and become two distinct churches; over one of which Mr. John Smith was established pastor, and among the others were Mr. Richard Clifton and Mr. John Robinson, two very excellent and worthy preachers.
In the fall of 1607, Mr. Clifton and many of his church, being extremely harassed, removed themselves and families to Holland, where, in the spring of 1608, they were followed by Mr. Robinson and the rest. They settled first at Amsterdam, where they remained a year; but finding that Mr. Smith's church, which was there before them, had fallen into contention with others, they, valuing peace and spiritual comfort above other riches, removed with Mr. Robinson, their pastor, to Leyden, Mr. Clifton remaining in Amsterdam, where he soon died.
Soon after their arrival in Leyden, they chose Mr. William Brewster to assist the pastor, as Elder of the Church. In their new place of abode they lived in love and harmony with each other, and on friendly terms of intercourse with their neighbors, till they removed to America.
By the year 1610, many had come over to them from various parts of England, and they had increased and become a great congregation.
In 1617, Mr. Robinson and his church began to think of emigrating to America; and, as a preparatory step, sent Mr. Robert Cushman and Mr. John Carver from Leyden over to England, to treat with the Virginia Company, and also to see if the King would grant them the liberty of conscience there, which was refused them in the land of their birth. Although the agents were not able to obtain from the King their suit for liberty in religion under the broad seal, as was desired, nevertheless, they prevailed so far as to gain the connivance of the King that he would not molest them, provided they carried themselves peaceably. In 1618, the agents returned to Leyden, to the great discouragement of the people who sent them; who, notwithstanding, resolved, in 1619, to send again two agents to agree with the Virginia Company; and at this time they sent Mr. Cushman a second time, and with him Mr. William Bradford, who, after long attendance, obtained the patent granted by the Company to Mr. John Wincob, which was never used.
Notwithstanding all these troubles, so strong was their resolution to quit Leyden and settle in America, that they entered into an arrangement with Mr. Thomas Weston, a merchant of London, for their trans. portation, and sent Mr. Carver and Mr. Cushman to England, to receive the money of Mr. Weston, to assist in their transportation, and
to provide for the voyage. By direction, Mr. Cushman went to London and Mr. Carver to Southampton, where they finally joined with Mr. William Martin, who had been chosen to assist them.
A vessel of sixty tons, called the Speedwell, was bought and fitted in Holland, to be used in their transportation, and was designed to be kept for use in their new country. Mr. Cushman, in June, 1620, also hired at London the renowned May Flower, a vessel of ninescore tons, and also Mr. Clarke, the pilot.
Mr. Cishman, having procured the May Flower at London, and fitted it for the voyage, proceeded in it to Southampton, where he and Captain Jones, together with the other agents, remained seven days, until the arrival of the Pilgrims who left Leyden in July, embarking from Delft Haven.
On the 5th of August, both vessels, the May Flower, Capt. Jones, and the Speedwell, Capt. Reinolds, set sail from Southampton. The small vessel proving leaky, they both put in to Dartmouth about the 13th of August, where they remained till the 21st, when they set sail again. Both vessels were obliged to return a second time on account of the leakage of the Speedwell; and this time they put back to Plymouth, where they gave up the small vessel and dismissed those who were willing to return to London, Mr. Cushman and his family returning with them.
On the oth of September, their number then consisting of one hundred persons, they made their final start, and arrived at Cape Cod on the eleventh day of November, when they signed the famous compact, and landed at Plymouth, in America, on the eleventh day of December, Old Style, or on the twenty-first of December, New Style, in the year 1620.
During their passage, one only died, William Butten, a young man, servant to Mr. Samuel Fuller, the physician of the new colony, who was included in Mr. Fuller's family, according to Governor Bradford, although dead at the time of the signing of the compact.
One person was born during the passage, Oceanus Hopkins, a son of Mr. Stephen Hopkins, who did not survive long after the landing.
At the commencement of the voyage, the number of passengers of the May Flower was one hundred, and at the time of the arrival at Cape Cod Harbor it was the same; one having died, and one having been born, thus preserving the integrity of the number. Both of these persons, however, are numbered among the passengers, and hence the number is generally stated as one hundred and one.
Peregrine White, son of Mr. William White, was born in Cape Cod Harbor, in November, after the signing of the compact and before the landing, and is not included with the voyagers. He enjoyed the distinction of being the first born white child in New England, of the Leyden Pilgrims.
The first child born after the landing on the twenty-second day of · December, 1620, was a son of Mr. Isaac Allerton, but it did not survive its birth.
The My Flower has already been stated to have been a vessel of about ninescore tous, and was procured at London by Mr. Robert Cushmin, who was debarred the privilege of coining over with the infant colonists, as it was necessary that he should remain in England, to keep together those who were left behind, and to provide for their
future emigration, as he had done for that of those of the first passage. This he did by procuring the Fortune, and sailing from London in July, 1621, and arriving in New England on the 9th of November of the same year. It is also highly probable that he obtained the other early vessels, as he continued to be the agent of the Pilgrims till his death, which occurred in England, just as he was ready to come to spend the rest of his days in New England. In 1624, when the first division of land for continuance took place, Mr. Cushman, although in England, was placed at the head of the list of those who came in the May Flower; an act of justice alike creditable to our forefathers and honorable to him.
The May Flower not only brought over the first of the Leyden Pilgrims, but also, in the year 1629, with four other vessels, transported Mr. Higginson and his company to Salem ; and in 1630, was one of the fleet which conveyed to New England Mr. Winthrop and the early settlers of the Massachusetts Colony.
A vessel bearing this name was owned in England about fifteen years or more before the voyage of our forefathers; but it would be impossible to prove or disprove its identity with the renowned May Flower, however great such a probability might be. It is known, nevertheless, that this identical famous vessel afterwards hailed from various English ports, such as London, Yarmouth, and Southampton, and that it was much used in transporting emigrants to this country. What eventually became of it, and what was the end of its career, are equally unknown to history.
The following list of passengers is made up from various sources. By referring to the list of those who signed the compact at Cape Cod, taken from Governor Bradford's folio manuscript, we know who signed the compact, and the number of persons in the family of each; who of the signers brought wives, and who died the first winter. By the pocket-book of Governor Bradford we know the names and dates of the deaths of sixteen who died the first season, and how many died before the arrival of the Fortune, on the 9th of November, 1621. By an examination of the Old Colony Records, we know to whom land was assigned in 1624, and what families were extinct at that time; and, as the families were arranged according to the vessel in which they came, and an acre was granted to each individual, we know how many were at that time in each family. Smith has also told us that none of the first planters died during the three years preceding the close of the year 1624. By the division of cattle, in the year 1627, a record of which was made at Plymouth, we know every individual who was living at that date, and the relative age of each person in every family. By wills, records, and gravestones, we know the ages of many of the Pilgrims and their children.
From such materials, and with such authorities, the following table has been constructed; and it is believed, that, although there is a possibility of the existence of small errors which can never be proved, the list is entirely or very nearly correct.
In order to save space and unnecessary printing, and to exhibit more readily for reference some of the most important facts, the following distinctive marks are made use of.
Those who signed the compact at Cape Cod, on the 11th of November, 1620, are in capitals.