Imágenes de páginas

dents, over eighteen years of age, who had fulfilled the requirements for admission. Out of this fund there was first to be paid the interest on the university debt and the amount necessary for repairs. There was also to be established a sinking fund of one thousand dollars per annum, to be taken from the said annuity.

In the reorganization after the War, the Legislature, in order to assist struggling institutions, passed an act exempting from taxation all property belonging to incorporated colleges, free schools, and academies used for college or school purposes, and all property belonging to the University of Virginia and the Virginia Military Institute.

On the 25th of March, 1875, the board of visitors was given authority to consolidate all the debts of the university and issue bonds covering the whole amount, and thus cancel the outstanding obligations with the new bonds.3

Very little was done for the university besides paying the regular annuity until the session of the Assembly in 1883–84.

An act was approved March 15, 1884, appropriating forty thousand dollars for the improvement of the grounds, the drainage, and the water supply.4 Prior to this act, however, the number of visitors had been fixed at nine, and they were to be appointed by the Governor, with the approval of the Senate.5

The last important act in favor of the university was approved March 15, 1884, amending the act of 1876 relating to the annuity, as follows: “ There shall be paid annually out of the public treasury forty thousand dollars for the support of the University of Virginia, which shall be paid out of any money in the treasury not otherwise appropriated." In consideration of this grant, all white youths over sixteen years of age were, if they desired it, to receive instruction in the academic branches; that is, in all branches exclusive of those of law and medicine. The students were to be admitted according to the prescribed rules of matriculation. Of the forty thousand dollars granted annually, seven thousand two hundred dollars were to be set apart for two objects : first, the payment of the interest of the university debt; and second, the formation of a sinking fund with the remainder. The debt at this time (1883–84) amounted to seventy-nine thousand dollars.


This institution, although organized chiefly for military training, has given higher education to very many of the youth of Virginia. Owing to its connection with Washington and Lee University at Lexington,

Acts of the Assembly, 1875–76, chap. 102, p. 110.

Ibid., 1865–66, chap. 1, p. 6.
3 Ibid., 1875–76, chap. 234, p. 275.
* Ibid., 1883–84, chap. 424, p. 544.
• Laws of Virginia, 1881–82, chap. 46, p. 370.
• Code of Virginia, 1887, chap. 68, seo. 1554.



the institute deserves to be ranked among the schools of advanced learning.

An act was passed by the Virginia Assembly, March 22, 1836,1 authorizing the establishment of the institute, which was finally organized in 1839 as a State military and scientific school, similar in plan to the military school at West Point.

As the institute was located at Lexington, the Assembly enacted that “ The board may enter into arrangements with the trustees of Washington College, by which the cadets at the military school and the students of the college may be respectively admitted to the advantages of instruction at either place."2 The General Assembly voted that for the support of the institute, $7,710 should be paid annually out of the public treasury, and $1,5009 out of the surplus of the Literary Fund. Subsequently, in 1859, the sum of $5,790 was appropriated for the support of the State cadets, and in consideration of this last mentioned grant the cadets were to teach two years in the schools of Virginia.

The sum total of these annual appropriations was fifteen thousand dollars, and in 1869–70 the whole appropriation was consolidated, the code of 1873 providing that “there shall be given the sum of fifteen thousand dollars annually for the support of the school out of the public treasury."6

In addition to this general appropriation, special grants were made by the Assembly from time to time; thus, in 1848, the sum of twentyfive thousand dollars was to be applied from the Literary Fund to purchase chemical and philosophical apparatus for the teacher of natural science, and in the same act four thousand five hundred dollars were granted to build a house for an additional professor.?

An act of the Assembly, passed March 8, 1850, directed the payment of eleven thousand dollars annually for four years, for the purpose of building new barracks, but, after two years' appropriations had been paid, an act of May 29, 1852, repealed the law and provided for the payment of thirty thousand dollars in lieu thereof.!

Again, on March 31, 1858, the sum of twenty-five thousand dollars 10 was voted for repairing the buildings and grounds of the institute, and in 1859–60 an additional grant of twenty thousand dollars



Laws of Virginia, 1835–36, chap. 12, p. 12. Ibid., chap. 20, p. 18. 3 Code of Virginia, 1873. * Laws of Virginia, 1859–60, Chap, 60, p. 103, Ibid., 1841–42, chap. 24, p. 21. 6 Code of 1873, chap. 31, p. 270. 7 Acts of the Assembly, 1847–48, p. 18. 8 Ibid., 1849–50, p. 17. 9 Ibid., 1852, chap. 34, p. 29. 10 Ibid., 1857-58, chap. 162, p. 115.

11 Ibid., 1859-60, chap. 7, p. 103. 880 No. 1---12

made, which was to be devoted to the support of the institute, ten thousand dollars to be paid in 1860 and ten thousand dollars in the year following. A bronze statue of Washington was placed in the campus of the Military Institute by the Assembly at a cost of ten thousand dollars.


Hampden-Sidney College was incorporated in May, 1783, although the institution had existed prior to this in the form of an academy, which was founded in 1775 and opened in 1776." An act was passed by the Assembly in May, 1777, permitting Hampden-Sidney to raise funds by means of a lottery, to erect additional buildings. The academy had been founded by subscription in Prince Edward's County.”

The trustees were appointed to hold successive power; they were granted authority to make rules for governing themselves and the school, and to elect professors. , “And that in order to preserve in the minds of the students that sacred love and attachment which they should ever bear to the principles of the present glorious revolution, the greatest care and caution shall be used in electing such professors and masters, to the end that no person shall be so elected unless the uniform tenor of his conduct manifest to the world his sincere affection for the liberty and independence of the United States of America.”

Hampden–Sidney received but little aid from the State. There is re. corded but one land grant, that of 412 acres of escheated lands, formerly belonging to British subjects in America, or Tories, and located in Prince Edward's County. This grant was made to the college in May, 1784.4


This institution was first incorporated by the circuit court of the county of Elizabeth, on September 21, 1868, and afterward formally incorporated by the Legislature, June 4, 1870.

The purpose of the institution was to instruct youth “in the various common school, academic, and collegiate branches, the best method of teaching the same, and the best method of practical industry in its application to agriculture and the mechanic arts.” "

The institute was established especially for the benefit of the colored citizens of the State of Virginia. It is under the control of five curators, of whom at least three are to be colored, and all are to be appointed by the Governor of the State. On condition that the institute receives the benefit of one-third of the Congressional grant, one hundred colored

[merged small][ocr errors]



students are to have the advantage of free tuition, said students to be selected from the best schools in the State. For the fiscal year ending September 30, 1888, the State appropriated ten thousand dollars for buildings and ten thousand dollars for the support of the school."


In 1870 the Board of Education of Virginia was empowered by the Legislature to sell the land scrip of the Congressional grant and invest the proceeds in State bonds for the support of one or more schools, in accordance with the provisions of the United States act of 1862.” By an act of the Assembly approved March 19, 1872, the interest on the land-scrip fund was devoted, one-third to the Hampton Normal and Agricultural Institute, and two-thirds to the Preston and Olin Institute. The grant to the latter was made on the following conditions: (1) That the name of the institute be changed to the Virginia Agricultural and Mechanical College; (2) that all property belonging to the institute be transferred to the new corporation; (3) that the new college give free tuition to as many students as there are members of the House of Delegates, and (4) that Montgomery County contribute the sum of twenty thousand dollars for farm and buildings.” These conditions were complied with, and the college was organized at Blacksburg, Montgomery County, in 1872. The number of visitors who were to have control of the college was fixed at eight, to be appointed by the Governor. This number was, however, changed to nine in 1878, and then reduced again to eight in 1880. It seems that the State was tardy in making appropriations for the the new college, as there were other State institutions having prior claims. The first State appropriation was made in 1877, when the Legislature voted for repairs and improvements the sum of $16,250, of which one-third was to be paid in July, 1877, one-third in January, 1878, and the remainder in July of the same year (1878).” In March, 1878, an act was passed admitting to the college twice as many free students as there were members of the House of Delegates.” For the fiscal year ending September 30, 1888, the Legislature appropriated twelve thousand dollars to the Agricultural College, ten thousand dollars for barracks, and two thousand dollars for repairs."

1 Letter from the Secretary of the State Board of Education.
*Acts of the Assembly, 1870–71, chap. 69, p. 48.
*Ibid., 1871–72, chap. 234, p. 312.
“Ibid., 1876–77, chap. 303, p. 304.

*Ibid., 1877–78, p. 238.
* Letter from the Secretary of the State Board of Education.



William and Mary College. Royal grants : 1693—Quitrents and money 1693_Tax on tobacco exported, one penny per pound. 1693—All profits arising from fees in surveyor-general's office. 1693—Twenty thousand acres of land.

General Assembly grants: 1693— Tax on goods, wares, and merchandise imported. 1718—Money appropriations (about $3,333)... 1726_Tax of one penny per gallon on imported wines, rum, etc., per annum 1734–Tax of one penny per pound on tobacco exported into North Caro

liva from Virginia. 1759–Tax on license to peddlers, on each £3. 1784—Grant of“ palace lands” in Williamsburg and James City. 1888—Special money appropriation ....




[blocks in formation]
« AnteriorContinuar »